New LCS pickups and some interesting info....

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

Today I woke up to a little extra cash in my bank account, like enough for lunch and $300 leftover extra, so what do I do? Spend it on silver of course!

My first purchase (When I learned about the round):

IMG_0064.JPG

A very nice NTR Metals sealed 10 OZ bar, my first "big" purchase.

Then I went off to my local pawn shop to see if I could find something nice......

I found triple 1921 morgans!

IMG_0066.JPG
IMG_0067.JPG
IMG_0068.JPG

I like morgans, never had one till now. Might have to make one a pocket piece....

Ok so on to the Tahuantinsuyo Mint Round. I found out this round is one of a three piece set. whereas hundreds of these "Gift boxes" were used to get thousands of ounces of silver from Peru into the States. You see, the owner of the mint wanted to leave Peru, his wife was no longer willing to stay in her home country. So he hatched a plan to get the silver into the US with him. Apparently when you leave Peru to move into another country you are only allowed $11,000 in cash to take with you through customs. So this man had a plan, take the $11K and send over a bunch of "gift tokens" made of pure .999 silver, this way he was able to sell the silver when he got here.

Im pretty sad that I learned all this today, going back in and finding out about this was exciting. But while learning about the round, I also learned they no longer had a complete set. My LCS only had 2 different kinds of the "gift tokens" left, and all the gift boxes.....

Maybe next time I find something oddball-ish I will just have to drive right on in for the info.

Here is the Mystery Token again:
front round.jpg
back round.jpg

Thanks for the read everyone, and learning about this crazy token too....

-Patrick

logo3.PNG
SSG Banner 1.png

Sort:  

How do I get an $300 extra into my account?

Left over grant $ from my wife getting recertified as an EMT

Glad they are real bro

Me too, I almost bought 4 sets but they didn't have the 3rd token anymore, so I just got a big bar lol

I hate when that happens. Nice bar

Morgans are nice, I only have one but I plan to get another. Mine is also a 1921 p and I plan to get a 1900 o.

I have been looking at the special ones that @silverd510 keeps posting about, hope i find one at a good price

Awesome you found the history. I couldn't find anything on those coins. Another piece of knowledge under the ole stacker cap. Nice LCS score too!

Yeah, wish they could give me the name of the person that bought all the missing tokens though. Then I could make a complete set..... But I will just have to pay more attention next time.

And thanks, it's the biggest weighted piece I have bought so far

Nice heavy hitter!

Thanks bud, I really like the weight in my hands 😀 reminds me of something hahahahaha

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by darkmrmystic from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58387.03
ETH 2359.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37