Stacking Silver! The Cryptokeepr's other alternative investments

These silver bars have been cooped up their secure hiding place for awhile now and it felt good to let them out to shine in the light of day, get my hands on them, and admire them.

all.JPG

My focus the past few months has been very heavily on accumulating cryptocurrency and I've shared a lot about my activity in that realm and here on Steemit, but now I'd like to share some of my other holdings that I'm very proud to have. I've seen others from the #steemsilvergold community on steemit post pictures of some of their stacks on here so this is a bit of what I'm sitting on (indefinitely).

My prize possession

kilo.JPG

I bought this Johnson Matthey kilo silver bar a couple of years ago when silver was just a little bit lower than it is now in price. That's about 32 troy ounces of silver and the weight of it sure feels good when I pick it up. I was accumulating pretty aggressively when Silver dropped under $16 and even 15 per ounce and I had just gotten a nice bonus at work one June so I bought this big boy.

And a few of my other favorites...

The other bars shown in the first picture above are 10 and 5 oz bars which are what I consider normal sized buys. I'll usually pick up 5-10 oz of silver when I see a deal that's less than $1.50 over spot price. Sometimes APMEX sends me emails about flash sales and I get it for less than a dollar per ounce of spot and there's free shipping over $100. Quite a deal! I love bargain shopping no matter what I'm buying whether it be cryptos, hard assets, or whatever.

I've currently got 2 more things coming to me--one is a quarter kilo silver bar and the other is a 1/10 oz gold round. I'm guessing they'll both arrive in the next week.

My silver collection dwarfs my holdings in gold and I'd like to change that in the not too distant future. I'll be sure to share the new arrivals when I get them.

I love to have a diversified portfolio and precious metals should definitely be at least a small part of one's overall net worth. Cryptos are great but if the sh** ever really does hit the fan who knows if the web will be up or the lights will even be on. God forbid that ever happen but the way I see it we must prepare for the worst and hope for the best...so the old saying goes.

I hope all you gold and silver bugs enjoyed seeing this as I like seeing what others are stacking. It's really nice having this community of people who are passionate about alternative investments.

Happy Stacking!

Sort:  

Always good idea to diversify the holdings. One of my main problems with holding these commodities is storage. I don't really want to keep them in my house, a safety deposit box at the bank costs too much for the value, so I'm a little unsure of where to keep them. Suggestions?

Depends on how much you're holding. A decent safe that's secured to the floor or studs in the wall or is recessed into a floor / wall and covered up by something isn't a bad idea. Or you can just find a really creative hiding spot or hide it in several different places if you didn't want to buy a safe.

I get your sentiment of not wanting to pay for storage...part of the point of holding stuff like that is in case of an emergency and I'd want to have it on hand and not in some bank vault if things go south....who knows if you'd have access to it in a banking crisis or something of the sort. That and the cost.

Yeah that's exactly it. I am tired of using banks and giving them my hard earned money. I've seen something where you can keep your brinks gold in an off site safe but not sure how reliable that is. I guess just hiding it well might be the best option

Yeah the company APMEX that I order from most of the time has a partner that offers off-site vault storage but, again, it costs money and who knows if you'd have access during a crisis when you really would need them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83