I Was Indoctrinated As A PREPPER From Age 5

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

“Oh the horror!” you might say. No, I am actually eternally grateful. This wasn’t some monstrous parent(s) putting me in with a cult to be brainwashed. It seemed to be quite innocent at the time. They signed me up with a local group alongside many other young boys and taught us all about survivalist stuff like camping, making a fire with sticks, purifying water and using basic weapons like knives and bows.

prepper.jpg
Source

The motto of this group is one you might have heard before. It’s “BE PREPARED” and they drilled it into us. Can you see the linkage now? Be prepared for what exactly? Aha! The penny drops. Be prepared for anything! Be prepared to have to fend for yourself out in the wild! Be prepared for the collapse of civilisation!

BE A PREPPER

bepreparedcoin.jpg
Source

For those familiar with this group, you are probably laughing right now but if you think about it just a little bit there is some truth in what I say. Yes, I am talking about the world wide group called “The Scouting Movement” that was originally set up by Lieutenant-General Robert Stephenson Smyth Baden-Powell in 1907. This is a movement that survives until this day and is even considered to be a mainstream activity for young boys and girls who like the outdoors, but the messaging is quite clear when you have a deeper look at it.

badenpowell.jpg
Source

While I was growing up, I was like just any other kid. A bit of a mess. At times undisciplined and free-spirited and certainly disorganised. My father would always chastise me with “What’s the Scout Motto!?” whenever I screwed up and gradually I got my act together. I went through Cubs, Scouts and Venturers (at which point I discovered sex and alcohol) and by my late teens I was out. But I was involved with this movement for maybe a good 13 years. I got my Green Cord, attended the World Jamborees, went through the Commando Courses and all that stuff – as you do.

commandocourse.jpg
Source

Today I AM prepared and all those survivalist skills I learnt back when I was a kid I still remember. While I haven’t used them for years, it gives me confidence that I can look after myself and my family in a SHTF (Shit Hit The Fan) scenario. I have my Precious Metals stack (in a safe place) and have even greater awareness and preparedness of what can go wrong than probably 99.9% of the population. When it comes to being prepared, I am all over it.

What about you? Are you PREPARED?


steemsilvergold.png

TeamAust_buggedout.png

Images and Credits
https://www.inquisitr.com
http://www.a1coins.co.uk
https://www.pinterest.co.uk
http://newsinfo.inquirer.net

Sort:  

Scouts also learn to survive when living in the open by making tents, making wood fire, eating with raw material, not relying on electricity, away from crowds and finding it difficult to find. It is this kind of atmosphere that he is educated to survive. Good postings are very useful.

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote!

Thank you.I am very impressed on your post was ... because I have ever experienced it, just like you.

You asked, 'Be prepared for what exactly?' The organisation prepares you for the eventualities of life. The camping exercise is one of such preps.

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote!

Thank you very much. Deeply appreciated.

"The eventualities of life"

Sounds pretty sanitised to me. A bit of a PC version but OK, if that works for you then sure. :)

I was in beaver scouts, before cubs and then eagle scouts, I think it was called? Scouts Canada. Good times and great skills!

Nice. I reckon there will be a fair few of the #steemsilvergold group who spent time in the movement ;)

You were a Boy Scout? That's awesome! I was in the scouts too. Had a great time. I loved getting out into the woods and camping with my brother and friends. Nothing like eating a meal cooked over a stove after a long day of hiking.

Hehe...if we met in real life I'd give you the secret handshake! :)

It usually is so, that some innocent things and knowledge we pick up and learn in our youth stay deep with us, and we can remember them without hesitation. I think it's never too much knowledge, especially about basic skills like surviving.

We really don't know how the world will turn and what will happen to us. And thinking about that and the fact, that many now don't know how to wash dishes or clothes by hand, how to live without tv or internet. Or even more disturbing is the fact, that many don't even walk to the shop around the corner - why, if they have a car... In the world with so many things and appliances which can help many, people are getting more and more spoiled and unfortunately many think a lot less than way back.

So I must say, that is nice to read, that you are prepared and you know how to take care of yourself and your family.

Thanks. I think you are right and I fear the younger generations just aren't getting a good grounding in real life skills. They have had it pretty easy and are probably a bit soft. I know I sound like a typical grumpy old man bitching about the youth of today, but a lot of the younger generation even say it about themselves!

I had my boys join the scouts for a year. Unfortunately the volunteer scout leaders either had no idea what to do or just couldn't really be bothered ( I'm not really sure why they were even there.) They spent around 10 minutes working on tying knots, which they only did around 3 times during the year. They went camping once for a 2 night camp. the first night they sat around doing absolutely nothing, some of the parents went home and brought back board games so they would have something to do. For most of the following day they did nothing, so I took them for a hike (I'm not even a scout leader) Another scout leader from a different town turned up later that day and had them do a couple of other activities which was ok but after that there was nothing for them to do again. My sons were tired and bored so I took them home, they didn't stay the second night. They had Scouts once a week and most nights they either coloured in pictures or played the same cricket type game which my sons hated (they didn't like playing sport that's why they joined the scouts) At the last minute they entered a raft in an Australia day beach event. The life jacket straps were damaged so they couldn't do them up. Which was a worry as my sons couldn't swim at the time. (Tried to get them into swimming lessons but couldn't because they were always fully booked) After 12 months we decided it was pointless as the boys were bored and hadn't learned a thing. I know there are many great scout groups out there that are doing a wonderful job with there members, really wish we had one of those here. After the boys left scouts we joined the local Archery club. First few lessons they loved but then the men that run the club started to get very vocally abusive especially with the children and those that volunteered to teach them. On our last day a lovely man that volunteered his time was abused in front of everyone for not hanging up a bow correctly and a little 4 year old was screamed at for doing what an adult told him to do. I'll never forget that poor little boy crying and huddled into his mum in fear as this man screamed at him. We left after that day. I would love for my boys to learn survival techniques but unfortunately there are no groups where we live that are willing to teach them or make it enjoyable for them. So I've tried my best to teach them what I can from online information and courses. Not as good as joining a group but better then nothing.

That is really unfortunate. I have to admit I was pretty lucky to have had good leaders. From my experience a lot of the leaders had kids of their own in the group, so they actually cared enough to come up with good activities and learning. A few of these same leaders were also Vietnam Vets so they had very good survivalist skills and experience to pass on. They didn't talk about their war experience but it was known that they were Vets and they were highly respected and looked up to.

If you don't have good leaders in your area that is a shame. But maybe there are some Gulf War vets with kids who aren't too messed up to become leaders for the new generation?

I’m don’t know if it’s healthy to be obsessed with “prepping” but those are some great skills to have! I would love to learn them myself.

It's never too late. As long as you can pass the Working With Children background checks you can get involved as an adult.

Sounds very Australian, and I admire it!
I'm 22 and I still lose my shit when I see a spider xD

It's a world wide movement though the humour I used may be a tad Australian ;)

I have been on the fence about signing my boy up for the Scouts, but after reading your article I’m going to give the Scouts a second look.

Wow. That is life changing stuff there. Hope it works out well for you and your boy :)

It's always good to be prepared, too bad I wasn't indoctrinated with such mindset - like 99.9 of the world population. Still I do have my own preparations just in case of emergency, but probably not as good as yours. Thanks and have a nice day.

Some preparation is better than none and self-awareness is high on my list so kudos to you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99