Historical Tag Analysis for SteemSilverGold

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago

The #SteemSilverGold tag was first used on June 20, 2017 and it spawned a great community of Steemians interested in Silver and Gold who rallied around the tag and made it their own. I am very proud to be part of this community. Since we are almost a year old now and I got my SteemSQL access back today I wanted to have a look at just how active this community has been since it was first conceived.

reportcard.jpg
Source

The first chart I want to show you is the number of Posts that have been made on the STEEM platform with #SteemSilverGold used as the first tag (Blue – Left Axis). I wanted to compare it to the total number of Posts made on the platform (Green – Right Axis) to see if we could see any trend.

ssg-communityTotalPosts_Historical.PNG

You can see that there was a big, yet unsustained spike around August last year which probably represents the initial enthusiasm and excitement surrounding the community formation before it settled back down in late November 2017. There was a bit of a run up in platform activity which coincided with the big STEEM and SBD price pumps of late December and January but #SteemSilverGold seemed to lag a little here which indicates our community wasn’t really as obsessed with the STEEM price “Gold Rush” effect as others were on the platform (I think this is good). Then there is the really interesting part. We had some controversy in March which threatened to the tear the community up, and we also had a decline in crypto prices and general platform activity….but #SteemSilverGold held firm and even grew. We didn’t grow by much but April and May have been strong months, possibly the best we’ve had and we have defied the broader trends.

ssg-communityTotalComments_Historical.PNG

Looking at the Comments on posts using the #SteemSilverGold tag (Blue – Left Axis) against the total number of Comments on the platform (Green – Right Axis) we can see some similar trends. The general activity in the #SteemSilverGold community has fairly closely tracked the overall activity on the platform but April 2018 once again stands out as a period where this community has really stood up and out-performed the broader platform.

standfirm.jpg
Source

What I take from all this is that we are doing something right. We are pulling our weight and not just adding value to the STEEM ecosystem and getting the word out about Silver and Gold but we are also potentially leading by example when it comes to how a community can grow and engage in a sustainable way on this platform. It feels pretty good to be part of this community and I hope we can continue to show others how it’s done.


steemsilvergold_buggedout.png

teamaustralia_buggedout.png

Images and Credits
https://associationsnow.com
http://www.ctk.church
http://steemsql.com

Sort:  

I've never been a huge fan of participating in social media, but #steemsilvergold is an excellent group of people with whom I feel comfortable sharing thoughts and ideas about stacking.

Yup! What a group we have become! I haven't stacked so hard in a couple years, like I am now. When I first started I spent every extra penny on gold or silver, then after a few years it kinda started to be just a few pieces every month or so, but steemit, and crypto trading have sparked a buying frenzy! I love it!

What fat-elvis said!
😎👍

Right on, man! I've said it before, but if it wasn't for SSG, I wouldn't be collecting silver like I am today. It went from being something where I would buy Silver American Eagles for people on special occasions to now where I'm spending whatever extra cash I have to add to my stack. :)

That's what it's about mate. Silver makes a great gift, but it makes an even better place to park your savings :)

oh bro,

I love stats and i love steemsilvergold. This the first post i have looked at today and im oof to a good time. Thank you for taking the time to throw this together

No probs. It was actually my own curiosity which had me digging into this stuff and just thought I'd share. Happy to see there is someone out there interested in my stats and charts :)

Good to see we are doing well,Long live SSG!

Thank You @buggedout for all you do and your analysis of the ssg-community..............

I only found this community month or so but it has ignited my dormant stackitis! I have always been interested in stacking but never has the drive to really get in to it until I stumbled on this community. I am not a prepper per se, but I do like to have contingency plans for everything, so adding to my stack adds to my piece of mind as well. Thank you everyone involved with #SteemSilverGold and thank you @buggedout for the post!

It's actually a pretty common sense, uncorrelated diversification. You don't need to be a prepper to see the benefit of investing in Silver and Gold. I'm a bit like you. I don't have a gun, or a bunker, or a stockpile of food for that matter....but I see the value in having some contingency plans.

I shoot handgun competitions so I have some guns and being that I live in Vermont we can be snowed in for days at a time so we have a weeks worth of food in the house during the winter, but never really stacked any precious metals until now. Its never bad to hedge your bets!

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Steemit really ut a mazing community personally when in knew steemit by my friend 4 mounth a go i loug out facebook and i desactiver my acount ..
Steemit its the present and future

I only found this community month or so but it has ignited my dormant stackitis! I have always been interested in stacking but never has the drive to really get in to it until I stumbled on this community. I am not a prepper per se, but I do like to have contingency plans for everything, so adding to my stack adds to my piece of mind as well. Thank you everyone involved with #SteemSilverGold and thank you @buggedout for the post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63033.54
ETH 2434.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54