Who I Do not Buy Coloured Silver CoinssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago

There are 3 reasons why I do not buy coloured coins, like the coin (Junk) shown below.

Mickey Mouse.jpg

A serious collector would never and I mean never have a Mickey Mouse, or Star Wars or any other Coloured coin that is just a promotional tool for the film or cartoon makers, there is no history in that coin at all.

These coins are for children and the mentally deranged, they are a toy.

The most important fact is, if you look at the American Eagle below there is one major difference.

US Silver Eagle.jpg

When selling you will get more for the American Eagle 1oz Silver Coin, than the Mickey Mouse 1oz Silver Coin.

The Mickey Mouse coin is Not a Pure Silver coin as when it comes to melting them down the American Eagle is 999 Silver so is easy to melt down, the Mickey Mouse coin has paint on it so you can not melt the coin down with say, a 1oz Britannia, Maple Leaf, and other Silver .999 coins because it will make them impure.

So when coin are melted down the American Eagle can easily be melted down with other similar cons, but the coloured Mickey Mouse coin and others like it would need to be melted down together to get all the impurities out, taking a lot longer to do.

If your buying bullion never buy coloured coins as you will get less money as it takes a lot longer to get it back to .999 silver.

When it comes to choice and a scrap dealer can buy 100 American Eagles or 100 Mickey Mouse coins he will go for the Eagles and offer you 20 to 30% less for the coloured coins.

Coloured coins will be the loser every time.

Sort:  

Excellent reasoning!

Agreed, colored coins are junk. Sov

I hate colored coins. One reason I never buy them is because silver looks way cooler than paint!

I think colourising coins is like the opposite of lipstick on a pig.

It's... putting pigshit on a pearl. :D

I have one guilty-pleasure exception and that's some Celtic coins I saw recently.. the colourisation was done by an artist, though. I think that's got slightly more merit as a collector's piece, but I would never stack multiples of those so it's separate issue really to bullion saving.

Sov

Upvoted & Resteemed

Sov

Damned ugly, aye. Blasphemous, really.

I agree Bob it's a disgrace lol! :-)
Sov.

Only kids will buy Mickey Mouse Lol . Nothing beats American Eagle !

Plenty of fully grown men are still buying Mickey mouse coins!! Not me tho,, yet. Lol :-)
Sov.

To me I would say it's more like a gift for kids and make it more appealing to attract younger generations into stacking.

Sov.

Your points are very true, however the thing to remember is Mickey is most likely going to be resold to a Disney buff and not for scrap. Things like Star Wars and Disney always have a large audience willing to spend a premium on items that a lot of people just don't get. I can't fault those that buy these and try to flip them. Everyone likes different items, but as I have said previously I am not a big fan. Thanks !! SOV!

Stackers are only interested in bullion, not in the beauty of a coin. The common citizen is interested in the beauty and doesn't even know what is to sell to a scrap dealer. They are two different kinds of silver buyers and the Mints know it. SOV.

I'm a bit of both, stacker and collector, so I usually end up paying more than I should, but you have to keep it fun, and generic basic boring silver is just that! :-) Sov.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59933.20
ETH 3191.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44