Are My SilverTip Bullets Really Silver?

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

image

Over the holiday weekend I treated myself to a new revolver. I bought this Smith and Wesson 442 Performance Center .38 +P and I knew I that already had several boxes of ammo for it at home, so I didn't bother buying any more.

After looking through my inventory, I found a box of Winchester SilverTip Hollow points and my mind naturally started to wonder if there was really any silver in or on the bullet.

image

From first looks, what do you think?

image

Apparently I wasn't the only one that questioned this because there are several public forums where people have been talking about it in the past.

image

From my research, the answer is no. There was no silver used on these cartridges. The bullets are made from an aluminium alloy and Winchester apparently used the term "SilverTip" as a sales gimmick. While there are more effective rounds out there than this...they do kinda look cool, eh?

Now ya know! If you have any questions, please feel free to ask! @bluelightbandit

image

Sort:  

If there's not really silver in them, they won't be very useful in killing werewolves!!!

That's what I was thinking, false advertisement lol!

pfft lame on them. I guess you will need to cast your own silver hollow points and become a modern day exorcist. Who knows, there might be a movie inspired by you in the future :p

I know right? I was bummed that they were a fraud.

hey you've got a good amount of silver yeah? Cast some lol it would be worth it I think

At least if it were silver tipped, it would provide some bacterial free benefits when entering the werewolf.

They do look cool. ;)

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67