testing time...

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago

ssg3.gif
Some of you may have read my little post the other day about a vintage silver bar I bought from ebay, I mentioned tests I tried to do as I was worried if it was real silver. However at that point I wasn't happy about those tests as I did not have good equipment. Since then I have bought cotton gloves, a rare earth magnet, and some proper scales. I decided to do the whole process again including this time the specific gravity test.
So I began again :)
fake1.png
First I weighed it
fake2.png
I did the magnet test


then the specific gravity test

then I did the math :(
31.95 / 3.22=
canvas.png
then I consulted reades (https://www.reade.com/reade-resources/reference-educational/reade-reference-chart-particle-property-briefings/25-specific-gravity-table-metals-minerals-ceramics-substance) and......
turns out this is lead ! Looking at the table we see lead oxide is 9.5 - 9.9 and we know silver is 10.4 - 10.6
I was gutted but some instinct kept telling me that this just wasn't silver. The only way I can describe it by feeling is; it just didn't feel right, and now the specific gravity test proves it is lead
So I don't have a vintage silver bar any more :( I have messaged the seller and asked for a refund and I am returning it tomorrow as soon as the post office opens.
I'm really glad I found the gravity test, it is the one test that proves one way or the other. This was the last silver item I bought from ebay and I won't be buying any more, this seller had 100% rating all good reviews :(
ssgmini3.gif
Now for some really good news!
I am actually rather excited and really happy as I have ordered and paid deposit on a beautiful silver heart from backyardbullion
woohoo
yay.gif
It won't be poured for a little while yet soon as it arrives in my home I shall do my first unboxing video :) I am looking forward to seeing what ripples I get :) it's not often one gets to openly admire ripples, and I shall gush most enthusiastically about mine :)

it be treasure time!
dbandv.png

writing and images by Velveteen 2018

an5.gif

ssgmini4.gif

Sort:  

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

many thanks to all ssg community much respect

Nice test, gotta watch those ebay coins and bars!

hi, thank you, i am glad i did it, not only does it prove for sure it helps me feel more confident in messaging the seller, i am not one of lifes complainers i have never returned an item back to a store ever but this time i felt confident so for the first time ever i am returning something, :) thank you for dropping by i appreciate yout visit, much respect to you

No problem, following you now!👍

It was a very good idea to test bars/coins that you did not trust. Congrats.

hiya good to see you my friend thank you i am glad that others have in the past shared their experiences on youtube otherwise i wouldnt have known about the test so my thanks go to them, communication is key to everything really, some of the videos are years old but because of one small video made five years ago i am able to recoup my money and know with confidence if i have bought silver or not, so a thank you to any and all who share knowledge both on the blockchain and all social platforms, thank you for visiting i always appreciate your visits, have a fab day, much respect to you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98