black.....

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

ssg3.gif

Hiya lovely ssg friends !

So I showed you my sketchbook, had grand plans didn't I? :) I am known for always wanting to run before I can walk :) I like to think of it as being ambitious, and this week I was mostly learning.....it is bloody hard transfering my design to the silver, I has been doing it all wrong. Ah you live and learn well I do :) so I ordered some bronze in which I can happily make mistakes without it costing the earth , I decided to first work the negative of my design on the bronze then make a mould from that and then cast the silver in the mould , that's my plan anyway :)
For now though I used the last little bit of silver to make two skulls, and I made them lovely and shiny, then I decided it was time to learn about patina, finishings, how to add colour or effects to silver , it has been another intense learning curve but I am ever so happy with the results.
At the moment I only have acccess to two types of finishing both producing black, and I took my two new little skulls blacked them and they are brilliant now! I love them can see the detail really well. Then I was having so much fun I took the little bats I made before and blacked one of them, I didn't like it as much, so I kept one shiny I prefer it that way, then I tried my tiny skull I made and that looks fab :) So blacking is my new thing and it really suits skull designs
a little video

I had so much fun I ordered a little set of patinas for silver, fingers crossed they get here next week so I can play with them :) I shall now leave you with a sketch from one of my fave comedy shows ; The Fast Show, so here we have:
the fast show and Black.........

abim1.gif

ssgmini.gif

Sort:  

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

huge thank you loaded with love and respect for all the fabulous ssg community i am working hard on saving up for my tier and hopefully a ticket to the raffle :) i love ssg vanddrunkbob.png

Those are looking good! Keep going, we often have to pour the same piece several times to get the full look we want, the beauty of silver if its not right you can melt it and do it again!! Thanks for sharing, and keep up the good work

hiya, excellent to hear from you, and a huge thank you for your kind words and encouragement it really does mean a lot to me, and i confess i have spent the night learning as much as i can about finishes and colouring my poor brain needs a rest but its rather addictive working with precious metals, i havent watched anything normal, you know like a film or something :) for ages all i watch now is either pouring or someone telling me i need more tools :) not sure what the average woman dreams about as i have never been average but i dream about having my own little workshop with a proper bench full of tools and an endless supply of precious metals to work with, i am really starting to appreciate both bronze and copper lately i admit i was all 'no tis only silver has my heart' when i started but since watching some of the colour effects one can get on bronze or copper its just beautiful, just watched a bloke producing the most excellent rainbow colours just by burning with the torch and i am sure you being an expert knew this but to me it was all new and now i need to make rainbows :) i learned so much a new blacking method and about firescale the subject is literally my obsession :) i also watched an amazing bloke doing inlaid gold engraving and that was amazing it looked so beautiful, thank you so much for visitng me here its nice having people i can say all the stuff i learn to and when i watch you work and produce your excellent pieces i appreciate just how much knowledge and expertise you have and again i have to say thank you your work inspires me and your encouragement gives me confidence, i am not known for confidence :) i am working on that though, thank you for your support my full respect to you always

Love the skulls especially the last one you showed keep up the great work! 💀👊

hiya :) the last one on that video i believe is a tiny skull one of the first things i made in silver and originally i made it in full on shiny mode :) i just love the shiny :) but then after much learning of different blcking methods i had to try it on the tiny skull and it looked so much better, much as i love the shiny i have to admit it doesnt show the detail as well

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64839.49
ETH 3551.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32