Aussie Stackers : Perth Mint

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

PicsArt_07-16-11.09.24.jpg

Stacking, if I were to go by my friends stacks, has been around for a long time. But it wasn't until I joined Steemit that I found out about it.

In fact no one from my circle of friends know anything about it. So this series is dedicated to my friends who aren't stackers yet who will be getting the link to this blog in their DMs today.😁😘🤗

What is "Stacking"?

Stacking is basically collecting precious metals (silver, gold, copper, titanium etc).

Actually the term might not even be exclusive for precious metals but a general term for "collecting" things. In this case though, if you imagine the coins stacked up on top of the other, the term makes a lot of sense.

Maybe there's different types of stackers. The ones who collect them for their beauty and ones who collect as a way to secure their wealth? Or maybe in the end, after a while it melds into both reasons.

For me it began as another way to put something aside for the future but the more I look at them, the designs and especially the craftsmanship in hand pours, the more I appreciate the arty side of stacking.

Stacking in Australia

One of the things I've learned from the #steemsilvergold community is that we actually have one of the best mints in the world in Australia ~ Perth Mint

They are not the only seller in Australia nor it is our only local option but for this post I'm focusing on Perth Mint because their range is extensive.

Perth Mint has no doubt, produced some of the best, fanciest, most drool worthy coins on the market. Unfortunately, they are also some of the most expensive ones out AND they out of stock quickly or it's not available on the website.

What? No 'Sort'?

Screenshot_20180716-222557_Chrome.jpg

After a long scroll through their website (on mobile) I've decided it's one of the least user friendly I've ever encountered.

The search feature is driving me bonkers and I don't like the fact that I can't at least sort and adjust how many products shown. I mean look here, no sort option!

In all honesty this is one of the reasons I avoid Perth Mint because a search that could take a few minutes turns into hours because I'm sifting through so many products often with multiple tabs open.

All that said, I still drop in every now and then to see if:

a) They have anything new and available I can drool over.

b) They fixed the website.
(If anyone from Perth Mint reads this.. 🙏 Please throw some money at your website and add a sort feature.)

Last night was one of those times.

Goodies Galore

With all the posts of everyone getting their 2018 rounds flying around, my stackitus was coming on hard and I needed eye candy of the silver kind.

If you're into the whole online window shopping like I am and want to dream big, coins wise, I reckon Perth Mint is a good place to start.

Pretty 1oz bars

PicsArt_07-16-04.54.21.png

And here's what I mean by out of stock or not available online. Why is that not available online?

I want one of those dolphins for when I reach dophinhood and the platypus because I suppose I'm at that weird not minnow anymore but not dolphin either ~ so maybe I'm a platypus?

Something for the geeks

PicsArt_07-16-05.19.18.png

Here's another too bad so sad moment.

If I want these I'm going to have to hunt them down and personally if I owned them you'd have to give me a lot of money to give them up.

That Hans Solo one... 😂👌

Boxed Sets

PicsArt_07-16-05.22.52.png

From what I've noticed most of them seem to come in their own box (or case) but imagine getting a box like these with heaps of coins in it. 😱

Check out those colours! They also to do the colours really well. (I know there's a proper term for that! I just can't remember right now lol). It's either that or whoever does their website graphics did a great job.

But if I go by 2017 Kookaburra round (thank you @dfinney! ❤) made by Perth Mint, these should look amazing in real life.

Fancy Schmancy

PicsArt_07-16-05.18.33.png

How crazy are these? And they're still available!

There's so much artistry here and on top of all that gorgeous detail they added a ball in the middle = Genius.

There really is something for everyone at PM and I'm not even going into the whole Disney Princess rounds 👑.

What if the tooth fairy was a stacker?

20180716_171230.jpg

Imagine being a kid expecting to see a normal coin but instead you get something like this under the pillow.

I think it's a great way to begin introducing the kids into stacking and a way to justifiably build up their stack as they grow up. They can have a little nest egg by the time they're 18.

ON SALE!

I love me a sale I seriously do. 2 for 1, 1 for 2 ~ I'm all over that shiz. Here's some of my faves from their SALE page.

PicsArt_07-16-10.16.49.png

PicsArt_07-16-10.18.34.png

In terms of price per ounce the Alice in Wonderland round is good value for Perth Mint. After combing through their website I think the cheapest 1oz round was around $69.

If you shop around you'll know you can get 1 oz silver for around $25 AUD. To put it into perspective the 2018 Steem rounds were about $35 AUD each with postage included.

If you haven't gotten your 2018 Steem round go get it now!

Dream Big!

Perth Mint is where I go when I want to dream about spending my lambo money. I don't drive anyway so what would I do with a lambo? I'd rather a trip out to Perth Mint instead for a shopping spree.

I'd get these babies.

PicsArt_07-16-05.17.33.png

Since I'm dreaming big, why not right?

20180716_162209.jpg

The funny thing is, when I took a break from visualising myself surrounded by gold chests all pirate like, I decided to check Steemit and found out I won a round from @pit-bullion! How 'bout that for some instant manifesting! (Cheers Pit!)

I'll be writing about other mints & online stores/sellers in my next post. I'm hoping this series will help fellow newbie aussie stackers figure out what's what and find reliable sellers who are either located in Australia or ship to Australia.

If you know of any reliable sellers/companies who sell silver online to Australians please drop their link in the comments.

Happy Tuesday Steemit!

❤ Arly

Disclaimer: All product photos are screen shots from Perth Mint

Sort:  

So beautiful!! I have never really thought about stacking, but with @o07 bringing silver coins to the Adelaide meetups I really really want one 😂😂 maybe I’ll have to dip my toe into the stacking world!!

@wildflowerjessi do it do it do it!
A steem round is a great start! ;)

wow those coins are expensive.. I hope I have at least one of them..

Totally agree about their website! Some very cool coins there though. I’m not a stacker but have found some nice presents there over the years.

Right? I suppose theyre not worried about selling their products since they go like hotcakes regardless lol

I was amazed to find jewellery on there! They have some really nice stuff, pricey, but so nice 😍

I've heard good things about Ainslie Bullion in QLD.
They accept BITCOIN, ETHEREUM, BITCOIN CASH, LITECOIN & RIPPLE although no sign of STEEM just yet.

They carry Perth Mint coins, but no platypus or dolphin bars.

Ohhhh noice! Thanks @mattclarke! I'll check them out. There's a couple more I've been looking at that seems to be legit. But how do you know really... Any tips? Or just buy 1 coin to test the waters?

They're pretty well established.
Published physical address (you can go and pick up direct from the mint). Youtube presence, daily blog; they also diversify into Self Managed Super Funds.
I'm not seeing any red flags anywhere.
When the price recovers a little I'll be ordering through them.
Instant stack.
You're not going to get individual ounces much cheaper than $25.30/oz
image.png
https://www.ainsliebullion.com.au/products/silver-bullion/100x-1oz-ainslie-minted-silver-bar/tabid/85/type/2/guid/cdefac16-eebc-4bed-af1f-f384a2310229/default.aspx
Only a little more for Perth Mint Kangaroo bars.
image.png
They seem to be more about stacking for weight, though. I haven't seen any of the coloured or jewel encrusted stuff.

Yeh no pretties but I'm down for good value silver any day.

Been eyeballing this $26.73
https://bullionmoney.com.au/1oz-silver-dragon-perth-mint-coin.html

Down to 25.73 if I buy 20.... Group buy anyone?

And I actually have a chance to go there and verify them cos they at Parra :)

Nice. Buy for cash and pick up if you can.
Fewer details in the system.

I saw their store front when I was in Brisbane recently. By appointment only. Serious, real world place. :)

Nice! Thanks lads! Writing my next Aussie Stackers post tomorrow I'll defo include these guys.

I had a look through their site and gotta say those prices are 👌

Ill go check if the others I found had shop fronts. I was just going to try and buy 1 or 2 from the unverified ones to see if theyre legit or not.

It annoys me that we don't have a local company that stocks ALL the coins. Yeh perth mint has come cool stuff, but im sick of seeing the same coins over and over again.

hi good friend thanks
by. @ adit123

I did not know about this term, and how much fun it can be

I admit that I did not know about Perth Mint, so thank you @Bearone I found this post highly informative.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86