Backyard Bullion Mail Call

in #steemsilvergold5 years ago



Hello everyone. One short month ago I put in an order with @backyardbullion, hoping it would arrive before Brexit. Luckily Brexit was postponed, so no customs nightmare. But anyway, five days earlier I received a little mail from him, telling me that my parcel was ready to be shipped. And today it finally arrived! Now let's see what's inside.


Packaging

The parcel came inside a sturdy cardboard box wrapped inside brown packaging paper. But the packaging doesn't end there, each item ( two in total) was wrapped in multiple layers of bubble wrap. Underneath all the bubble wrap there's even an additional foam board for protection. You most certainly can't blame him for the packaging; it's top notch! As I was a bit too excited, there's sadly just one picture of a wrapped item.

Items

Now let's show you the items. The large sliding squares puzzle and a custom heart.




original size

Heart

The heart is a gift for my girlfriend, and it's almost as beautiful. I won't write "as beautiful" because that could have consequences ;). Anyway, the heart is hand-poured with a beautiful ripple finish. You can choose between a mirror finish and antiquing. I picked just the ripple finish with a wooden display board. The reverse is custom stamped with our names. And two cute hearts. A lovely piece.



original size

Sliding Square Puzzle Board - Large

This is now one the coolest pieces in my silver collection. Aside from the tetris set, which is also made by Backyard Bullion I don't have anything comparable. I absolutely love that you can actually play with it. Having a nice wooden sliding piece helps with that. The tetris set was cool, but sadly you can't play with it. This piece remedies this and it's really fun to play. The pieces just slide over the board without getting stuck. Everything fits nicely.


original size

original size

original size

original size

As you can see each piece is unique in weight and ripple pattern. But this wouldn't be an authentic Backyard Bullion piece without the hallmarking. The Edinburgh Assay Office hallmarks every piece from Backyard Bullion; the hallmark consists of the maker's mark, BYB in this case. The fineness and material of 999 fine silver (the ellipsis represents silver) and the date letter for 2019, the U. The castle is the mark of the Edinburgh Assay Office.



original size


Conclusion

I absolutely love the pieces made by Backyard Bullion. His pieces are pretty unique, and I haven't found anything comparable in Europe. I hope Brexit results in favourable tax conditions for both Backyard Bullion and his customers. But even high import taxes won't stop me from buying some more pours from him.

Aside from that It would be very cool to see him make gold pours as well, I really hope he doesn't get too discouraged by the failed assay test of his first gold pour and keeps pushing forward.


original size

Elly loves large silver pieces and those hand poured pieces look really pretty!

Sort:  

BYB is sure moved into unique products apart from simply pouring silver, as he is creating show able conversation pieces that could segway conversation into economic topics, Staacking, gold and silver with visiting guests and win new people over to Stacking.

That's true. BYB makes some very interesting pieces. But I haven't had anyone start a conversation over them yet.
Might change one day ;)

Very cool items! I am a fan of Backyard Bullion and subscribe to his youtube channel. I'd love to order something of his but the premium is pretty steep with shipping living in the US. Some day when I've got some extra money... :)

Thanks they are really amazing items :)

But it could very well be the same for me after brexit with import taxes. But we'll see how that works out :)

I am sure your girlfriend will really like the gift and the sliding puzzle is awesome! What would you guess the total weight of the sliding set is?

Yes she did like it. The sliding puzzle weighs about 37.4 troy ounces. It's pretty heavy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62904.22
ETH 2571.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76