You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 3 Traditional Gold Price Drivers & How Crypto Disrupts Them

Even mainstream, old school financial planner types hawking managed funds and ETFs will tell you diversification is the key. I bought gold in 2016. In 2017, I've bought some silver and cryptos. (Note: financial planners will never advise you that.)

I believe there is value in holding both precious metals and cryptos.

My super has been invested in cash since around 2015 when it looked like the war in Syria was going to blow out into a full on conflagration between the US and Russia. That threat has dissipated as Russia, Syria and Iran appear to have the upper hand over the US, Turkey and Gulf states, but the sharemarket still seems very overvalued. If there's a big sharemarket correction in 2018, I'll move from cash back into shares.

I'm not too worried about North Korea, as I believe the strategy of tension between North Korea and South Korea, Japan and China is just what the US wants in order to maintain its strong presence in the area. North Korea is worth much much more to the US alive than it is dead.

Happy investing in 2018. It's going to be a very interesting year.

Sort:  

Cheers. Diversification is key but also beyond that there are correlations and natural hedges of one investment against another. If you asked me 6 months ago I would have said Gold and Crypto were correlated but now I think Gold has become a hedge for Crypto because of the way sentiments have changed.

As for being in cash, I have a bit of that too. Syria has been a mess for some time but it seems to be near a resolution now. The US has blown it in the Middle East I reckon but that's a whole other post.

You are probably right about North Korea. They are a very useful bogeyman in Asia to justify US presence. Still, the market seems to respond to the sabre rattling so it was the best current example I could use for Safe Haven buying that would be fresh in peoples minds.

Hope you have a good 2018. Looking forward to seeing what's in store for us Gold and Crypto bugs ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53929.89
ETH 2263.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35