Anyone up for a game of Monopoly ?

in #steemsilvergold7 years ago (edited)

Anyone up for a game of Monoply?
The most expensive Monopoly game ever made by a San Francisco jeweler named Sidney Mobell. In 1988, when he heard about a Monopoly tournament taking place in London. He called Parker Brothers (now part of Hasbro Inc.) for permission and then set to work creating the golden game, working every day for a year straight " gold was between $360 to $460 an ounce when he started.
img_7723.jpg

The set of dice alone is valued at $10,000, with 42 full-cut diamonds for the number dots. All of the properties that make up the game board are also set in gems, with some 165 gemstones in total. The “Chance” and “Community Chest” cards are photo-etched.
monopoly-gold.jpg

The Scottie dog, thimble and top hat are all 18-karat solid gold. The board is 23-karat gold-plated, from Free Parking to Park Place. The numbers on the sides of the gold dice are displayed by 42 diamond studs, and the Monopoly money is on gold paper. The set costs $2 million in total.
history_071.jpg

Sources:
https://www.smithsonianmag.com

Thanks for checking out my post.
Untitled_3_2560x1440_15.12Mbps_2018-01-20_17-30-21_0.00.266.jpg

Sort:  

Keep on eye on the players, as they could walk away with the House, at the end of the game. Similar to the demise of FIAT currencies..........Just saying

So true, lol the house, the hotel, the car, dog. Everything lol

I am so down for a game dose winner keep the board and such?

Of course if you win you keep the board, and the money. Lol

Cool man! 😎 So just the dog, hat, and thimble are gold? Did they cheap out on the other pieces, or is there just 3 pieces? Good post brother👍

Lol I think all the pieces are gold " they should be for that price", and the dice $10,000 for jist the dice. Wow lol. Thanks for checking out my post.

That is bad to the bone! Nice job on the post. I have thought about casting Monopoly pieces but never have. Have a great weekend.

Thanks for checking it out. That would be epic in silver, if anybody could do that you sure could. Make sure you share if you do. Have a great weekend.

Now that's a classy game of monopoly 😀

Thanks for checking out my post. Yeah classy I would be afraid of beeaking something on it.

I've heard about this before. Monopoly is one of my favorites from when I was younger. I still enjoy playing it today with the kids. Really cool post.

Thank you for checking out my post. My brother and I used to play it every Christmas eve for as long back as I can remember and even in our adult lives when we were around each other for the holidays we would play. Great memories.

My problem is that every game of monopoly ends with the board being hurled off the table in a fit of rage. That's fine with a $4.00 thrift shop board, but the owner of this one may have issue with this inevitable ending.

Lmao so true @fat-elvis. I know what you mean. My brother and I sure use to bayyle at playing monopoly for sure. Lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60514.84
ETH 2575.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56