Sort:  

Yeah I'm also curious how much do you get if you find a silver one ?

Depends on what you find.. but count on $2 per find for dimes and more for nickels and quarters .. my usual hunting is for kennedys

So what exactly are you doing here? Certain coins are pure silver and that's what you are hunting for? If so, are they just in public circulation and anyone can have a chance in finding? Something like a silver certificate?

1964 and older dimes, quarters, 50 cent pieces...... 90% silver content....

There are silver coins in circulation ... What darkmrmystic said.

That sucks... I feel like the most success I see people having is with half dollars... I also kind of think where you're at in the country can have a big impact... Better luck next time hopefully!

I'm in the south. In usually have great luck but there's a lot of competition in my city

never have luck looking in rolls. Even found old rolls from the 80's once at an estate sale. They wanted face value so naturally I took a shot. $500 worth of quarters and $200 in dimes and not a single silver coin.

Holy crap that's garbage. I would have taken that bet too. About to invest in a professional coin rolling machine. I've made a few hundred dollars just having fun with it

Luckily my bank doesn't charge for taking change. My old bank used to so I switched. If a bank can't count change for free they don't deserve to profit off my balances.

Was funny watching the teller fumble over her words when I told her I wanted to close all my accounts, business and personal, when she told me there would be a fee for counting my change.

Even better was making her give me the money in cash so it would be instantly available when I deposited it in the new bank...which I hadn't even picked out yet. Went to 2 other banks which were all in walking distance and the second one got my business. Free everything even my business accounts so it worked out great.

Good for you man. That takes balls. I only bank with local banks so my options are very limited.

I switched to a local bank and dumped citibank. Was a little worried as they merged with another local, but larger, bank last year. So far happy with the new bank too.

Luckily I'm in a very populated area so lots of options.

What does a machine cost? Hadn't ever considered getting one.

Decent home one runs about 200 bucks plus the cost of paper rolls.

That is pretty big investment unless you are handling a lot of coins. I'm not that serious or consistent about it, but good to know.

How long does it take you to go through that many coins? Do you have a system that makes it quicker?

I don't for fun. Took about 20-30 min to unroll and I'll have a machine roll it back up

Lol, yeah, doubt any part of the process is 'fun.' So you basically buy and then return the coins to a bank?

Lol looks like something i would do hope u get lucky and find a few while out on a stroll :)

That is a bummer, hope you get some good finds next time!
My parents are both very into coins. Every week she asks the local bank for 50cent pieces and Eisenhower dollars. We also save all small face bills for my mom since she likes to collect them. I found a silver certificate $20 bill once at work. I had switched it out for another $20 since it was lime green on one side and looked cool. Come to find out it was worth about $250 and that was close to 10 years ago now!

That's awesome. I wish my parents were into something cool. All they do is read and golf.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99