You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Dollars for Real Estate?

in #steemservices8 years ago (edited)

In your area, it'd be New River Valley Unwired - https://www.nrvunwired.net
Their listed speeds aren't quite as fast as what I offer here in NE Oregon, but similar technology.

The idea with listing on Bitshares is as part of figuring out how to set up a localized crypto-equity system for DAOWISP so that interested customers in an unserved area could essentially self-franchise via the DAO system (hire from a contractor pool for construction of their tower site(s), hire contract home installers, support services, etc.)

And of course set up a smart-contract 'Interconnect Agreement' to obtain bandwidth from their closest DAOWISP Ring Network.

It's a slow-going solo effort for now, as I have time between running my ISP and building my place.
If I had the capital, I'd love to hire Cryptonomex to help build the framework. Haven't yet gotten enough exposure though.

Sort:  

I'm actually in Austin, Texas now, but clear your cache soon, as I'm moving in a month. :) I'm staying pretty mobile, right now.

The speeds they list are OK, but not competitive with the local cable cartel (Comcast), so if I were to go with them it would be as a protest against ISP monopolization. :\

Sounds like you've got some pretty elaborate plans in mind for how this will work. I'd love to learn more about it (and I'm quite confident @troglodactyl would too). I could write the Bitshares smart contracts for you too, when you're ready for that. The most qualified devs for that are probably Dan Larimer, myself, and Ben Johnson; and I think both Dan and Ben are pretty heavily involved with Steem these days (Dan obviously is; not sure about Ben). I could definitely make some time for those integrations, if the price was right. :)

Cool, well that's how sleeper-phases of big projects work, gradually pulling talent together! As I stitch this thing together, I'd definitely like to keep in touch. tech at hyperborean.io

Yeah, a lot of WISPs out there are using the older-generation AirMax-M radio equipment - they'll probably have faster options in certain areas if they're rolling out the new AirMax-AC stuff that is hitting the market. And the customer service is usually above-par :)

I've had a lot of background experience to draw from as there are only 2 of us covering 1000 square km with our own telecom grid, part of which is solar-powered. So almost everything is done in-house, server admin, tower construction and climbing, off-grid power wiring, switch/router/firewall setup, billing & accounting, on and on!

And with the DAO frameworks, cryptocurrency payment acceptance, and internal blockchain databases tracking the relevant metrics, and decentralized media systems like MAIDsafe/Storj/LBRRY/etc, there's potential to decentralize the whole telecom industry. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59238.58
ETH 3176.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45