Exploring sndbox members with a little bit over-engineering

in #steempython7 years ago

Hello,

I have joined to @sndbox this month. I am very excited to be a part of this community.

However, one thing I didn't do well yet -due to my limited time lately- exploring the people in the @sndbox. Today, I have decided to explore the fellows.


Let's play the Blockchain detective! (Source)


I had a couple choices for this exploration.

This list may include the people expecting a sndbox vote by just tagging it.

  • Read our internal post-promotion channel till the beginning.

Hard to keep state. Considering Slack's interface.

  • Write a script fetches the last sndbox votes and their authors. Make sure the post has the tag #sndbox.

Being a code monkey is hard, you end up writing small scripts for that kind of scenarios. And of course, I have chosen the last option.


Code Monkey - Source


Planning


  1. Follow @sndbox account's latest operations
  2. Filter them by votes
  3. Skip self-votes.
  4. Skip the posts do not have a @sndbox tag.
  5. Get the list!

While I was doing that, I was informed that I can get the same list via follow list of sndbox. Sometimes, I have lose faith in me. I fail to see simple answers but since we have started something, let's finish it gently.

My latest post on "steem-python for dummies" series includes a small script to monitor specific accounts' movements in the network. Let's use that code and change a little bit:


See the source in text format

Which results like this:


But this doesn't add much value to my cause yet. Maybe, following them automatically can ease my exploring mission today.

my_acc = Account('emrebeyler', Steem(keys=["wif"]))
following = list(my_acc.get_following())
for author in authors:
    if author in following:
        print("Skipped. Already following that user. %s" % author)
        continue
    if author == 'emrebeyler':
        continue
    s.commit.follow(author, account='emrebeyler')
    print("Following %s" % author)

Done. All set. All followed. I am out to explore my new feed.

Sort:  

There's a lot of great stuff in the @sndbox group feed :-D I enjoy reading through the post sharing channel from our Slack. Although I should be more consistent about doing it...

well damn, thank you!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Emrebeyler from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 36.0% @minnowbooster christmas upgoat, thanks to @omersurer
Want a christmas boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @emrebeyler to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Haver another happy year, !BEER



Hey @emrebeyler, here is a little bit of BEER from @isnochys for you. Enjoy it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57809.89
ETH 3118.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37