Craft Beer Blog #6steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steempub7 years ago

This past weekend I spent some time with family in La Crosse, WI. If Wisconsin is known for anything besides cheese and the Packers it's BEER! I said I would likely give you a review on a Wisconsin beer and that is what I plan on doing today!
New Glarus Brewing in New Glarus, WI might make some of the best beer you likely will never get to try. There beer is only available in Wisconsin. If you live in a border state there is a very good chance you have a friend that will pick you up a case when they come to town.


Spotted Cow is their flagship beer and I enjoyed a pint at one of my favorite bars, the Alpine Inn, on a hot sunny Sunday afternoon. New Glarus describes Spotted Cow as follows: "Cask conditioned ale has been the popular choice among brews since long before prohibition. We continue this pioneer spirit with our Wisconsin farmhouse ale. Brewed with flaked barley and the finest Wisconsin malts. We even give a nod to our farmers.
Naturally cloudy we allow the yeast to remain in the bottle to enhance fullness of flavors, which cannot be duplicated otherwise. Expect this ale to be fun, fruity and satisfying. You know you're in Wisconsin when you see the Spotted Cow."

This unfiltered Ale is super refreshing. I don't get much "fruitiness" out of it when I drink it, but everyone has different flavor pallets. I describe Spotted Cow to those that have never tried it as a domestic light beer touched by the craft beer Gods. It's easy to drink, but has the fullness and flavor you would expect out of a good craft beer.


The alcohol content at 4.8% puts it just slightly above your traditional domestic light beers. Whether out of the bottle or in a pint glass this is another great introductory beer for those that can't put down the their Miller, Bud or Coors.

For those of you outside of Wisconsin my heart breaks for you that you may never get to have a Spotted Cow or any other of the great beers New Glarus makes. I suggest a trip to the Dells or network with someone from Wisconsin to make it happen.

Check out https://steemit.com/beer/@mk40/friday-craft-brew-series-bubbler-hoptronix-la-seul-x by @mk40 if you want to read up on another beer from New Glarus. I have yet to try this one, but I am looking forward to it!


I wish I could fill this glass back up, but I gotta keep working for the weekend.

I hope you enjoyed this post!

Please Upvote, Re-Steem and Follow Me @roundoar03

Steem On!!!

Sort:  

How much this beer costs in steems?

In todays value about 2-3 Steem.

I went to LaCross to get this once. Wasn't very impressed, but like you said it's a good transition from the big beer brands.

Personally when I cross the border from MN, I like getting Hopalicious or Bedlam by Ale Asylum. I really enjoy those.

Both great beers! Thanks for checking out the post!

Did you try any Pearl Street Brewery beers in La Crosse? They make some good beers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62907.89
ETH 3379.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50