Timisoreana - beer of my teenage years

in #steempub7 years ago

I was in a supermarket yesterday doing my food shopping and I stumbled across something unexpected, I had to do a double take to make sure I didn't imagine it.
It was Timisoreana.
20170707_134438.jpg
Sure, the logo has changed since I had it on a regular basis, but the unmistakable "T" is there.
This is a pale lager, a simple no frills lager. But my memories around it ... heh, this was what I was drinking as a teenager and during my student years.
Let's see if it changed at all. First off ... 400ml bottle, I'm not used to that but hey, it looks kinda cute.
It pours a with a nice head, clean light colour and seems well carbonated.
videotogif_2017.07.08_09.08.08.gif

20170707_134607.jpg

Smelling and tasting it... well, nothing to talk about here really. Bland, watery, uninspiring in any way, but very clean tasting. I used to like it, but ... like good wines and beers, I've matured past it. This is a macro brewery lager (SABMiller group).

It does keep a nice head and it's pretty refreshing if that's what you're looking for.
20170707_134613.jpg

One thing I like about macro beers is how consistent they are. The external conditions don't seem to matter at all, the beer will come out exactly the same batch after batch.
It's been years I think since I had a beer as clear as this though. You can read the text through the beer filled glass.

20170707_134838.jpg
20170707_134910.jpg

Over all, this isn't a beer for someone looking for a new experience, it's probably the same product you can get from any macro brewery lager., but I don't regret buying it, it took me down memory lane and it did quench my thirst yesterday!

Thanks guys!

Sort:  

I drank alot of keystone when i was a teenager and boy is it flavorless but I drink one sometime for the memories. All the BBQ's and just hanging out all day out side having a good time. Anyway great post.

That's exactly it for me as well!
Thanks mate!

Very cool pics with the beer name showing though the glass. My teenage beer was Schlitz and Mickey's.

Thanks! I googled that beer and their old can designs and promo are really cool

It's not the best beer I drank but sure as hell is the best beer made in Romania. :)

Nah mate, so many good beers now being brewed in Romania, even some macro unfiltered beers of rather good quality!

Nice. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58039.01
ETH 2460.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32