Steem VS Facebook - How to make steemit more attractive!

in #steempromo7 years ago (edited)

Ok, hold on to your seats.. I'm going to write something about steem today.
While the value of steem is going down, there are ways to make this platform more valuable anyway!
I don't want to piss you of, I just need you to hear me out for a minute..

I've been active on steem for over a month now. I like it here. I've met some great people (mostly people I've met on #steemfest2 in Lisbon like @scan0017 and @misslasvegas)
BUT when I hear people say 'Why would you use Facebook when there's Steem',
I feel the urge to tell them exactly WHY.

So I'll give you an useful INSIGHT of a LAITY. 👱

PLEASE USE THIS INFORMATION TO MAKE STEEMIT MORE ATTRACTIVE!!
(Because I'd love to welcome my friends on Steemit!!)

steem vs facebook.png

REASONS WHY PEOPLE USE FACEBOOK INSTEAD OF USING STEEMIT:

1 BECAUSE FACEBOOK IS ABOUT PEOPLE AND STEEM IS ABOUT CRYPTO.

I'll be honest with you. I'm not really interested in crypto. I leave all the 'crypto stuff' to my husband @fitzgibbon. I like to interact with people, get to know people, and sharing personal things. Those posts are hard to find between the thousands of posts about Steem and other crypto going up, going down, going up, going down..

2 BECAUSE FACEBOOK IS EASY TO USE.

I'm not the kind of person who's interested in technology, but I DO know how Facebook works. I know how to create my own account, how to make a post and add videos, how to initiate a private chat with someone..
When I'm on steemit I feel really dependent on my husband. (I can't stand it! 😉) I still don't know sh*t!

3 BECAUSE FACEBOOK IS ABOUT SOCIALIZING IN A SINCERE WAY.

I love to read about how my friends are doing on Facebook. I love to let them know that I'm interested in their lives by giving them 'likes', without having to think about my 'votingpower'.
I love to share my story with them. When they give me comments I don't have that little voice saying to me 'is this person really interested or is this person hoping to get my upvote?'
Of course it sucks that Mark is getting richer and richer beacuse of my content, but at least the money isn't getting between people!

4 BECAUSE USING STEEMIT CAN BE VERY DISCOURAGING FOR A LOT OF PEOPLE

A lot of people try to get people to like what they're posting on steemit. That's hard when nobody actually SEES your content.. I've heard people say 'well, it depends on making great content. Give it your all'.
That's just NOT TRUE. When nobody sees you, it doensn't matter how great your content is.. These people don't get comments and not even a 'like' from anybody to let them know that their content is appreciated.
For me, I'm lucky to have some followers and some people supporting my posts, but it really doesn't matter whether I just post a quick picture or write a whole story about intimate things for the #monthlyauthorchallenge, and giving it my all. (I do it anyway bacause I love to write and I need to share it with the world 😉)

I think we can make it a more attractive platform by showing sincere interest in each other!

Think about it..
What a boost it'll be for a minnow when someone with a high reputation comes by and gives a royal upvote, knowing he'll get 'nothing' in return, just to let the minnow know he's valuable for the platform.
By 'nothing' I mean no SBD's, but this will get a lot of graditute, and honor and maybe some new friends too!! 😃

And you know what, being appreciated for who you are, getting love and giving love, gives you TRUE WEALTH!!

F*ck crypto 😜 (I didn't just say that!!!!😁)

Sort:  

You figured out how to make big, boldfaced words! NICE!
I'm with you on the crypto - NO idea how to run the financial side of it; like you (Steph or @bettyboob, I'm here for the fun of connecting with people and creative writing... Sure, I'll take some crypto for it, but that was never the sole reason).
I'm really glad to read more about you and your family - these posts of yours are things I look forward to reading every day.
Great stuff! 👍👍

Thank you Graig! I'm learning.. Do you need me to show you how to make steempower of your SBD's? I can do that 👼 I did it all by myself today!!!!!! GIRLPOWER!!!! 😎😋

We're SO romantic! 😍

This post! Yes! I am 100% with you, my husband is the one that is knowledgeable and most interested if not for him I wouldn't be on here- I wouldn't even know the site existed -so I agree with you completely because I still don't know much about cryptocurrency only what he tells me and what I read on here, it is a great platform, but so many great post/blogs go unnoticed because they are nit as popular or do not have as many followers..It seems many are afraid to like someones post that is new or who has a low reputation number, if that is what it is called..lol..sorry I am very new and still learning ..but I have had several friends join...they are still lost as well..hopefully in time it will get easier!

Navigation is harder here on steemit or is it? I am a person that thinks and acts in simple ways each day. Lazy is what I call myself. Yet productive is the goal. So much to learn. You are lucky to have someone who has an understanding of crypto I have no one just playing in a testing manor.

I like FB but I love that steemit offers a way for me to be earning more than SBD for what I post. Being unemployed for the past 4+ years due to caring for Abbi. Steemit has made it possible for me to have a pennies worth of earnings.
Love to you.

Haha love your writing .. resteemed !!!

well differentiated
Agree wd your words
Stay Blessed :) :)

Thanks! Hope things will chanche. This platform has so much potential!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60244.17
ETH 2333.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47