Travel Story: Billiard game with a pro

in #steempress6 years ago


Billiard with a professional

Have you ever played a billiard game with a professional player? I have, and I will remember it forever. We were staying at the Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur, where the Smoke House bar was more interesting than TV. The centerpiece in this bar is a nice vintage pool table which can’t be ignored. Am I a good billiard or snooker player? Let’s say I have some experience from my bar hopping days, and I can play it decently.

Billliard balls
Billiard balls are waiting...

However, there was a guy who was clearing balls from the surface of that pool table the same way a competitor clears his plate at Nathan's Hot Dog Eating Contest. Observing his solo game was outstanding and tempting. I offered him a match, but I had no idea how we could make it fair because he could probably finish the whole table in one round. So, he proposed playing with one hand.

Biliard leather corner
Leather corner on this old billiard table looks fab.

Is handicap enough?

I thought this was perfect because how could he beat me with one hand? How can you even play with one hand, honestly? It is incredibly challenging and I was happy with the advantage. At first, the game went better than expected. I had only two or three balls left when he cleared his black 8. Of course, I was pleased with myself even though he had been playing with such a disadvantage. But he was amazing, and that handicap didn’t look like a problem for him. Balls were cleared with ease and mistakes were rare. But that was only the first game.

Billiard play
Of course he scored this one. Easy!

In the next game, I did some “tricky” shoots and somehow managed to come out victorious. The situation on the table was tense and the game was interesting for all bar patrons. Vivi was my cheerleader with her fancy cocktail in her hands. Maybe cheerleading helped or some buzz, or it was plain luck, I don’t know. But I won the second match and s*** just got real. We played again to break the tie.

Vintage Billiard pocket
Vintage billiard pocket.

I must admit I was somehow proud and for a second even forgot my counterpart was playing only with one hand. Maybe I should keep that detail for myself? Anyway, everyone had fun watching our game and it was a nice show when he started clearing balls one after another. That was basically our last match. He started the last round and cleared almost all his balls. I could have easily just sat there and watched. “Can I bring you a drink?” was all I could add in the end. His clearing the table so quickly got into my head, and my turn didn’t go well at all.

playing billiard
At least I tried.

A few strikes later he managed to clear that as well and this was an official score – 2:1. We shook our hands and I got a match I will never forget. Professionals are always in a totally different league no matter the handicap. Aha, I forgot one small detail. This billiard star was a little bit tipsy as well :)

Old Billiard
Some heavy use on these holes...

If you like our work, please support us

BTC 3ANoNhSW5m2toMNr4bina2uNEgC1ehinYg

ETH 0x18D454A20e06Dcd78637608170dc0161a35211aF
or on the decentralized social network:
steemit-logo


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://wnfdiary.com/travel-story-billiard-game-with-a-pro/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63396.80
ETH 2615.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86