To Declaw Your Cat or Not?

in #steempress6 years ago (edited)

When I first brought my two cats home they were six weeks old.

I was asked immediately if I were going to have them declawed and I said, "no" as I think of that as painful and cruel.

My friends began telling me how my furniture would be destroyed and I could never use some of my nicer things because the cats would ruin them.

We have had a few mishaps but nothing that turned out to be "terminal" and my two cats mean more to me than those few things being in pristine condition. After all, we each have to make those personal decisions.

Scratching is natural for cats and declawing them can be the cause of unforeseen problems such as cats are more prone to bite and many times resist using their litter box.

Declawing of your cats has been banned in many countries and the Humane Society of the United States disapproves declawing unless in rare cases it is necessary medically such as removing cancerous tumors from the nail bed.

Yes, declawing your cats is much more traumatic for them than just getting a manicure. Not only are nails removed but tendons are clipped as well as other discomforts.



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://simplysouthern.site/to-declaw-your-cat-or-not/

Sort:  

Congratulations @team101! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60345.08
ETH 2986.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81