My ArtVenture: Pastel painting "Mando and IG-11"

in #steempress5 years ago (edited)



 
*


 

Hello dear Steemians and the fans of Starwars,


 

I hope slowly but surely the fan group of Starwars series "the Mandalorian" is getting bigger. Until now we watched at least four of episodes and today I wanted to present my Pastel work of Mandalorian and hunting droid IG-11, that I wanted to do as soon as I saw that episode. Like in my first Painting of "the Mandalorian" I mentioned that there are more to come I hope you will enjoy this one that I amnaged to do between the guests, visits and hectic holiday time.

 



 
My step-by-step process:

 


 


 


 


 


 


 
The finished painting:

 


 
Pastel painting "Mando and IG-11" by @Stef1

PASTELMATT pastel paper 30x40 cm, weight 300g/cm, soft pastel pencils and sticks

 


 
Photo source

 


 


 

 

 



 
*

 


 


 

 

I hope you enjoyed my post and thank you for viewing :-)


 

 

Sort:  

Neat stuff. How do you like those pastel pencils? Are they more waxy or powdery? Your pastel piece is much much better than that original photo by far!

Hi @bdmillergallery thank you for your nice comment. I use only soft pastel both as sticks, they are from "Rembrant" to blend large spaces, as they are powdery. For fine details I use soft pastel pencils, I bought recently "Derwent" brand, they are very soft and also easy to blend. I prefer soft pastel to Oil one, as it is easy to control and if you do not like then using kneatable eraser you can pick up the pigment. I hope it is helpful.

Yes. Very helpful. I have only the sticks. I don’t use them much due to my inexperience at using them. It always seems as though I suck at using them. Haha. Thanks for the reply! 😊

I can just advice start using them you will discover amazing world of beauty. Especially the way of using your fingers to blend will build up a special connection between you and your work. By the way, try to use pastel paper too, as powder of soft pastel will stick to pastel paper better. I recently bought "Pastelmatt" and love it, it is a cardboard thickness and pastel sticks good on it, especially if you will decide to frame it with this paper you do not need to fix it. Good luck!

Oh boy. Lots of good info. Thanks 😊 I have the cheep paper. I will look at the thicker stuff next time I’m at the store. Using the right tools is probably a good idea. Hehe. I really appreciate all that advice!!

Wow!!! Amazing artwork dear Stef and so colourful:) I saw the last episode yesterday, the series is amazing and i must say better than the recent trilogy. Looking forward for the baby Yoda artwork:):)

Hi George, thank you for your feedback in regards to my work, I did not realise that there are so many small details and it took me really long to finish them. I really love this series too and there will definitely be few more works dedicated to the topic :)

Yes the robot is for sure full of little details. Looking forward for more:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58635.35
ETH 3152.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44