You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: All News Is Fake

in #steempress6 years ago (edited)

Finally, a like-minded soul, lol.
I stopped reading papers and watching the news more ghan 10 years ago. Being hypersensitive as I am, I got all depressed from hearing/seeing what's going on in the world. For years, all the news I listened to was when I was driving home from work(or the other way around) and it happened to be 5 o'clock or so, when they announced the main news items.

I've been unemployed for 2 years now, so I spend less time in the car, and I am completely shut off from all news. People pjt on a weird face when you tell them that, but just like you i'm telling them.that if something really important happens, it will reach me one way or the other.

And all the other things... I have enough to deal with in my own life, I don't need to carry the rest of the world on my shoulders.

Everything is manipulated anyway. You only get to see what they want you to see. Fragments of a story, ripped out of their full context.

I remember that years ago, some USA president - I think it was Bush - admitted in public that 70% of all media was being manipulated. If a president makes a statement like that, you can be sure it's not 70% , but 100%.

And, just like you, I never run out things to talk about with people. There is so.much more to life than all the mysery that is going on everywhere.

When I was a kid, there was this group of kids who made songs, 'Kids for Kids' was their name. They had this one song that was called 'If I could decide what to report on in the news'. Anfd thën they would report all the positive things that were happening in the world.

I guess that it would have a huge effect on everyone if the news only reported about positive things, instead of all the negative things.

Anyway, my life has become a lot less depressing since I decided to stop watching/reading the news. And if I want to know more about something I accidently picked up, I can go look up more on the internet.
Of course, everything is manipulated too, that's why it is important to use as many different sources as possible and recognize the contradictions and see through the manipulation techniques every source is using. Even then, the truth is not easy to uncover, but at least you get an idea who's brainwashing you for what reason. If you dig deep enough, you will always learn more about the real context, which makes it easier to deal with things. Discovering the truth by following the news? I've given up on that. In fact, I think it is hilarious and sad at tbe same time that pelple still buy all that BS. They are only digesting what is fed to them, without even realizing they are being manipulated every minute of the day.

So far, cutting myself off from the daily charade that is called 'news', has had nothing but benefits for me :0

Sort:  

I hear ya!!!

I've always wondered what would the effect be if, for example, a TV news show only reported on good stuff... and not do it in the cheesy fake-smile way they currently do the 'feel-good' stories.

What if they reported no murders, rapes, war, politicians, etc... just for one day?! I wonder if there would be a back-lash....?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68401.35
ETH 3900.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63