Who the Heck is Wilma?

in #steempress5 years ago (edited)


If you have been in PYPT at the end of the show or listened to the recording, you’ll hear a pattern of me ending the show with “goodbye Wilma”. Wilma had a pattern of behaviour that left an indelible memory on my life.

I was raised in rural Ontario in the 1960’s (yes, I’m showing my age). In those days most homes had what was called a party line phone. No, we didn’t use the phone to play music while we held a party. There were multiple families on the same phone line. Each family had a specific ring. In theory you only answered the phone if it was your ring.

Telephone companies were local. The switchboard would receive incoming calls where an operator (or several if it was busy enough) would answer the incoming call and then manually connect the call through the switchboard. Operators were notorious for opening keys and listening in on conversations. Nothing like getting their gossip right from the horse’s mouth.

Operators were not the only ones known for a pattern of listening into others calls. Say hello to Wilma. She was the wife of the farmer who lived next door to my family. Now you’d think that raising a family, looking after a home and doing the many other chores farm wives did that she’d be too busy to listen in to others calls.

I never really knew if the party line was not very busy and taking time to pick up the receiver and listen in didn’t take her away from other duties or if she just willingly gave up the time. She did manage to pick up the phone on an awful lot of calls.

On occasion my mother would be asked over for coffee in the afternoon. She took me along on many of those occasions, warning me within an inch of my life that I was not to open my mouth at anything Wilma did while we were there.

It was a bit of a wise thing for her to do ahead of time or I likely would have had something to say when Wilma nonchalantly reached over, picked up her phone and listened in while the visit was taking place.

The first time it happened, I was shocked. At home, if we as much as moved toward the phone when it was not our ring, our mother would roar to bring us to an abrupt halt. She never batted an eyelash at Wilma’s behaviour, reminding me later, we don’t tell people what to do in their own homes.

She became so well known for this pattern of eavesdropping behaviour that we would finish our calls by saying goodbye to our caller and then say goodbye to Wilma who was likely still on the line. She didn’t often hang up during the call, didn’t want the click on the line to give her away, even though everyone knew she was already there.

I told a shorter version of this story in PYPT one night and someone commented at the end of the show that I didn’t say goodbye to Wilma. From the quip, my pattern of bidding Wilma goodbye at the end of the show emerged.

If there’s an afterlife, I expect that Wilma is comfortably seated on a couch with a phone to her ear. No comment if that is a torment or heaven for her.

Goodbye Wilma!


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://idesofmay.com/2018/12/09/who-the-heck-is-wilma/


steemit ramble

Until Next Time — Just Steem on

If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

I can also be found on Medium; Trybe; Weku

Want to @reviewme? Add your comment to this post

Sort:  

Thanks for comprehensively introducing Wilma dear @shadowspub.

You said you were raised in the rural area of Ontorio. Nice meeting you, I was raised in the rural area of Nigeria. But here we are connexed. Thanks to @crypto.piotr for connexing us for goooooood... You'll getting more quality posts from me henceforth on your quality posts.
Sincerely yours,
@jodekss

nice to meet you @jodekss

I love the Wilma story :D

Isn’t wilma the the wife of fred? Or to quote jello biafra on the LARD album ... Wilma, where’s my electric drill?

in the cartoon world yes wilma was the wife of fred.. This Wilma however was a living person.

Ahaa ... that clarifies a lot

How lovely! I love stories like this. We had a Mrs Upton, who lived at no. 3, she was our local neighbourhood watch long before neighbourhood watch was even a thing. She had a chair right in her front bay window and spent the day sitting there watching all the goings on.

She was great for latch-key kids who’d forgotten their key. 😊

Hi, @shadowspub!

You just got a 0.53% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @shadowspub! I so much enjoyed this story - TRULY! What an interesting bit of information and history, too! Nowadays, eavesdropping is done with a 'baby monitor' ;) haha! It's not so much done intentionally, a neighbor's digital phone would have to be on the same frequency I guess.

I had no idea that a 'party line' meant that the line was shared. What a character Wilma was and I love how you brought her into PYPT - I never knew the significance until now. Love it!

Oh, identity finally revealed! :-)
You could imagine all the version I had on who Wilma may be after beeing decalred that she is not the Flintstone one.
This is a very living story, I'd also miss if you don't say Good-bye, Wilma! at PYPTs' end.

FOR TSE ---> I was tyrannized back in my school days with the mantra of "What will the neighbors think?" -- to the point I came to absolutely despise the idea of people snooping. In the first place, I couldn't imagine anyone monitoring what I was doing, or caring ... let alone talking about it. I was always too damn busy with my own rat-killing to worry about what the neighbors were into. I certainly couldn't have told you what was what ... or who was coming and going at any house other than mine.

But the mantra remained. And that may be one reason why I live in the blooming middle of nowhere now. Apparently there are people whose day-to-day existence centers on checking out what others are doing. I still couldn't tell you one blessed thing about the people who live around me -- and, yes, there are a couple. But occasionally I get wind of something some of them know about me -- and my hand to God, I never said one word about the subject to anyone. Weird. (The spirit of Wilma lives. Even in the middle of nowhere.) Loved this story. It was ... enlightening.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98