Romancing The Olive: Plus, Iced Olive Leaf Tea

in #steempress5 years ago (edited)

image.png

One of my most treasured memories is being on honeymoon in Italy, where we were lucky enough to stay for free in a friends parent's villa. We had no money at the time, so it was a total blessing of a gift. We'd drink red wine and wake at lunchtime, eat fresh fruit and cheese, and go out into the hot day exploring. We fantasised about having an olive grove of our own, a ruin somewhere in Spain with land we could work and be happy. I still remember standing in a huge old olive grove near a lake, with the afternoon light coming through trees that were a hundred years or more old, birds flitting in and out of the branches, the insects, the summer, my man's arms around me, the beauty of the world.

image.png

As it turned out, we moved to Australia and bought five acres of land near where I grew up. It was a blank slate, and the first trees we planted were olives - a row of ten down the driveway. I can't remember what type they are now - I have a habit of losing tags - but they're silvery and beautiful, most often alit with rosellas in the way that Australia takes something European and adorns it with it's own wildlife, and bear fruit we badly pickle every year. Sometimes they work, sometimes they don't - doesn't stop us trying. To that grove we added three more tiny groves of five trees, so that now we have about twenty five trees between fruit trees and gum trees in our own little paradise.

image.png

What's It Good For?


The active compound in olive leaf is oleuropein. You'll also find that in olive oil, but it's more concentrated in the leaf. It helps stop insects attacking the tree, and kills bacteria and moulds. It's also full of phyto-nutrients that have anti-oxidant capacity - lots higher than Vitamin C or green tea, which is why olive leaf extract is often sold as a flu remedy and flu preventative, especially if you're in a high risk group such as a teacher or asthmatic. It's also full of nutrients like zinc, selenium and amino acids. Herbalists might prescribe it for heart disease, as a sore throat gargle, and a treatment for fungal infections such as herpes or thrush.

image.png

Like many natural medicines, there is still a lot of testing and research to be done, but it seems that what has been studied so far points to it's anti-inflammatory and antioxidant effects (thus perhaps containing anti-cancer properties), blood sugar regulation, heart disease and nerve damage. It also has anti-viral and anti-fungal and has strong bacteria killing properties. Some of these have been confirmed in many trials, some need more testing, so be careful what you're told about olive leaf extract and what's been proved. Blood pressure trials, for example, have been successful, whereas there's still much research to be done in terms of cancer 'cures'. Clinical trials have also found that olive leaf extract has been proven to regulate blood sugar and cholesterol. I've included some links to studies below if you would like to read further.

A quick search online revealed that many olive groves are also marketing olive leaf tea blends as an alternative to black tea and claiming more antioxidants than green tea - something studies seem to back. If you're drinking green tea for it's antioxidant properties, and have an olive tree in your garden, perhaps this could be a good alternative for you. However, there's not a lot of research that explores the benefits of a steeped tea versus a tincture - I would suggest the tincture would be much stronger, but drinking a few cups of olive leaf tea during flu season could only help. When olive leaf tincture can cost some $30 odd dollars a bottle here in Australia, it's also worth thinking about either making your own, or making olive leaf tea part of your diet!

It's summer here in Australia and I don't fancy hot tea much - but, going back to school has meant that I'm looking for a boost to my immune system. Hence, this iced olive leaf tea drink that has been quite delicious when I get back from work!

image.png

Olive, Lemon & Honey Iced Tea


A handful of olive leafs, simmered in a litre of boiling water for 10 minutes (you can steep it too, but I just didn't find this strong enough.
2 Tbsps of Honey (optional)
Juice of Two Lemons (or limes)
Ice

Mix, serve, enjoy! I've been putting this in an insulated flask to drink at work too - sometimes you get a little sick of water in the summer, so I've been enjoying this a lot!

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4997426/
https://juniperpublishers.com/ctbeb/pdf/CTBEB.MS.ID.555889.pdf

 




B2235A50C31CD126067343B513524EE62.gif


NaturalMedicineBanner.jpg

Join us on Natural Medicine Discord here



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://www.riverflowings.com/?p=244
Sort:  

ǝɹǝɥ sɐʍ ɹoʇɐɹnƆ pɐW ǝɥ┴

Every summer we get weevils which like to chomp on any plant they can find, including the olives. It seems like all our olives leaves have decorated lacy edges to them now. I wish they were a bit more repelled by the olive's leaves.

I'm not a fan of olives, only the oil, but our two little trees aren't going to produce enough for that. So thank you for the knowledge that I can try a tea from them, if I can ever get any leaves before the weevils.

Posted using Partiko Android

Weevils! That's a bugger!!! So the olive's insect repelling qualities are not too brilliant against weevils then! Grrr.

YOU DON'T LIKE OLIVES??? ARE YOU CRAZY!!

If you come across an olive grove, definitely pinch some leaves - they really are medicinal goodness!

Where did you visit in Italy? I lived there for about 2 months so it holds a special place in my heart!
I will have to try olive leaf tea, I’ve seen it added to other herbal remedies but didn’t look much into it yet.

Posted using Partiko iOS

We stayed at Castiglione del Lago on border of Umbria and Tuscany. It was lovely, and romantic for this little Australian who NEVER imagined she would honeymoon in Italy!!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Why do you people take such pleasure in making awesome posts about plants that I don't have yet and end up needing? ;)

Hmm... Maybe I should tell my neighbors to plant olive trees.

You could plant one? Or maybe guerrilla plant some in neighbourhood!!! Wonder if the Texan climate is good for olives?

Oh, and sorry!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

One of the things I miss the most about growing up in Southern California is the miles of olive groves that used to be in and the area; especially around Hemet. Sadly, many of those groves are now gone, but California is still producing more olives than any other state, so they still have lots of groves.

Most of the Spanish missions in California had massive olive trees that were hundreds of years old, as the Franciscan Fathers began planting them in the 1700s. That's where I truly fell in love with the trees themselves, though olives have always been among my favorite foods, especially oil cured Kalamata olives.

The closest we came to an olive grove in my family was a line of Russian olive trees that my mom planted along our fence line in Monterey Park, but although they are fast growers, and I loved climbing them as a kid, they don't produce edible olives, so I would never plant them again.

I miss the Mediterranean climate, and if we stay in Tennessee, we'll be putting in a desert greenhouse where I can have olive trees and date palms, among other dryland plants.

Our area is too humid for them to thrive in the open, and they'd be unlikely to survive our winters.

Don't you feel that wherever you live, if you have lived on other places, you always miss something? And even if you try to replicate it, it's never quite right? That's how I feel anyway.

California is so similiar to parts of Australia... they even have avocado!

Posted using Partiko Android

LOLOL - avocado is another tree I want in my desert greenhouse, though they'll take a lot more humidity than will olives and dates. No freezes, though.

But yes, I agree, as they say, you can't go home again. Even if you try, it won't be the same, because the time and circumstances have changed, as have we.

But for everything we miss, we find something new to love, so as with everything else, there is an evolution to it all. And that is a lovely thing.

Ah, aint that the truth! I think you have to be open to the beauty around you - adaptability is a good trait to have. I struggled moving TO England, missing the gums, and back to Australia, missing English woods! Crazy.

We humans are a contrary lot
;-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @riverflows!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.611 which ranks you at #1741 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 209 contributions, your post is ranked at #79.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Incredible! I am glad to learn that olive leaves have so much to offer. Too bad there are none growing around here that I know of.. but I would like to try to grow some of the hardiest varieties :) Next time i see an olive tree I would sure love to try some olive leaf tea - thanks @riverflows

And oh my goodness - Just saw my wallet! Thanks so much - very unexpected! It was a great comp and I loved reading all the entries!

You're welcome :) Well deserved and well earned!

I think they should grow alright - I mean, Spain gets snow, right?

I don't see why not!

Olives have very good health benefits no doubt. It's nice you have a space now to grow them. I normally use them in my salads I like the tangy tinge flavor it gives. And the honeymoon part is so cute 😍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60200.47
ETH 3004.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63