You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Un-Social Media

in #steempress6 years ago

Ah, the smell of a fresh new book, or an old musty book! So evocative. I'm glad I grew up with books. I need to go back to reading more - Steemit's become an obsession and I don't think even this is good for me. Give me pre internet days any day - if someone gave me the choice, I'd take it in an instant. I find it funny that none of my friends have contacted me to find out why i'm not on facebook or instagram. Is this because they've left too or are they so distracted by all the things in their feed that I've just drifted to the periphery of their thoughts? Would that happen if I stopped posting on Steemit, too? Ugh. Feeling maudlin. Going home to curl up with a book. Wish I was in Melbourne - you have a far better choice of pubs and cosy eateries to read and just 'be'. I think if I turned up in the Winch pub with a book I'd be given funny looks indeed ;)

Sort:  

I just turn up to pubs and cafes with a book anyway. If it’s ok to read the paper, why not a book?

I’ve found it an interesting exercise of who remains in contact and who doesn’t.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I used to always go to cafes with a book. I just don't seem to have time now. I probably should make the time. I did yesterday over lunch and some annoying woman talk to constantly to her friend very loudly on the phone about relationships and so on. So much for that

Posted using Partiko Android

😆 I saw you wrote that over on the Discord, but it was hours old by the time I went to reply. How’d you deal with it in the end? Did you stick chopsticks in her eyes?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68608.97
ETH 3280.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74