All This Life is Hope

in #steempress5 years ago (edited)

Sacred waters at Doongmabulla Springs - the entire basin of Galilee
Dreamings past, present, future - ignored
As fat men in big suits shake hands with an overseas coal company
'They got the go ahead!' the new reports cry -
We turn off the news and turn attention closer to home
Not much to be done on this end - we want them to take Adani to the Hague

It's freezing and we have no firewood - just rotten scrub in damp piles
It's winter quiet - muffled by fog, wet air
Last week one of our hens was taken by a fox
We put out a trap and entice two feral felines
Hard to ignore the damage white men have done to these south lands
I dream of poison, and bleached coral reefs where fish lie belly up
Glycophosphates in breakfast cereals

Cover

In the reserve we chainsaw dead wattles where colonist huntsmen scurry
Kookaburras chuckle closer for the season
Blue wren skittle, polyamourously dancing under grevillea
New England honey eaters flash yellow as the chainsaw chirrups
A flying fox hanging silently from a distant eucalypt
In the updrafts a huge wedgetail eagle. Majestic overseer.
All this life feels like hope.

Later, warm inside with the wattle ablaze
We shoo ants out the front door, apologise for disturbing their home
Donate money set aside for wood to people who know law, and magic.


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://www.riverflowings.com/?p=404

Sort:  

I LOVE this! I also shoo ants and spiders and bugs out the door, and talk to them lol. The bigger spiders, I usually tell them: 'I thought we agreed you'd come out every now and then so we could watch you grow, and not wait until you're fully grown and scare the crap out of us :)

Ha, i have big conversations with insects too, especially the big ones that seem to have their own personality!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

"shoo ants out the front door, apologise for disturbing their home"

Perfection ;) Used to do that every night in Bali.

Insects are so lovely. I get made at my students for squishing spiders and bugs. It's so easy to shoo them away! Why kill them?

so beautiful, I love the comparison you have made between human made and the natural environment. When will humankind wake up ahh, we are so so lucky to live on this earth xxx

Thanks honey, glad you liked it xxx know you get this landscape as you have been here!!

I could FEEL the tired, sad spirits of the Ancient Land, and also the warmth of your fires, the gratitude of the ants and the calm watching mindfulness of the flying fox. A LOVELY contribution, my dear.


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

Ah, thankyou so much. This comment means the world xxxx Poetry always taps into country for me.

How beautifully written... I mean I must say you have really powerful imaginary power and left a great message for everyone.. Also love how you compared mankind with nature.. Thanks for sharing...

Thanks the time to come and comment. I am glad you enjoyed it. I really enjoy writing poetry when the mood takes me but I can't force it period this one came easily.

Posted using Partiko Android

Absolutely I agree, poetry is something which really comes from mind, what you feel, depends on mood , that's why I am late writing poem..

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @riverflows!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.744 which ranks you at #488 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 4 places in the last three days (old rank 492).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 201 contributions, your post is ranked at #42.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I love your poetic voice!

all this life feels like hope
maybe hope and creation are one and the same

And I ADORE the final line
Donate money set aside for wood to people who know law, and magic

I do the same!
I love this poem

Thanks so much, a big compliment from someone I admire so for their writing skills!! Like @artemislives saud about hers, I felt as if it needed to be more finely edited, but hey, will leave that for another day!

Posted using Partiko Android

Nature is hope but the sad thing is that we are destroying hope (Mother Earth). Its a green piece @riverflows

woww.. you know you have used more unique words in this post than i have seen in about the last 2 years! Amazing vocabulary, where DO you pluck those words from!

amazing.. beyond logic!

Thanks ..I think? I guess my poems are quite local to my environment here! I hope you liked the poem.. it was an awesome challenge!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

yes i liked it.. especially because every animal conjures up its own feeling, and meaning.. and you chose so many that i have never really seen !.. and it had some kind of mystical side to it.. .. Mmmm

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63010.40
ETH 3137.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85