Time To Refocus

in #steempress6 years ago


This has been coming for a little while now. I was hoping the feeling would pass, but it really hasn't so I guess it's time to act on my instincts.

I'm powering down my alt accounts.


I really don't have the time to fuck around with my main account so how am I supposed to look after four of them.

To clarify. this is my main account and I used @granolalight to do non-swearing, homesteading related posts. I barely showed up on that one, but I'm keeping 5 SP on it in case the urge hits me.

@reactionaries was my wife's account that she has relinquished to me after having had enough of Steemit and @fromthebeginning was an account that a friend just left to me when things went south for him. I basically just set them to autovote friends and collect a bit of curation but it was less than a cent a week on average so what's the actual point to that?

So I set the three of them to power down and I will move whatever is in them to this account and then figure out what I'll do with it. I imagine I'll just lease out my tiny amount of SP and sit on my laurels but who really knows? I can't lie and say that I'm not disheartened and a bit depressed when it comes to Steemit.

Posting, I mean.



Winter is on its way and I am switching to winter shift next week. That means shorter days (if it's not snowing) but more days per week. I know from last winter that I am not going to have the time, or will, to sit down and write out stories each week, especially when you spend hours doing it when you should be doing more productive work. If it produced some actual physical benefit to my life, I wouldn't even balk at it, but I feel like it's stressing me out more.


Add to the mix that I probably average about $5 a post and it doesn't really seem worth it. It may not look like it but I spend several hours on a post and while I am not here for the money, obviously, there are really not many other rewards, when you actually think about it.

Sure, I know you are all vibrating right now and yelling "COMMUNITY!" at the screen but I didn't say I wasn't going to be involved, I am just going to take a break from posting here. I am still going to be judging what I can for Comedy Open Mic and helping behind the scenes there, and I hope I can still hang out with @shadowspub the odd time I'm able to catch a show on the Steemit Ramble discord.

When I'm not plowing or sanding.


I also like cuddling up with my wife and dreaming of our trip down to see @buttcoins this February.

(Why do they put that first "r" in there? I have never heard someone pronounce it Feb-ru-ary. Have you? Maybe I will start enunciating better and fucking everyone else up.)

Yeah, we are planning a trip to Lake Atitlan to scout out possible homesteading sites. That's another reason I need to buckle down and do more productive things with my time. The longer I piss around, the longer it's going to be to get out of the rat race and into a more meaningful existence.

If I can pick up extra hours this winter I am going to grab whatever I can. I'm also going to focus more on growing indoors. We got some new lights and want to learn as much as we can about efficiently growing things inside. We hope to one day branch into aquaponics as well, so it's kind of important for our future to figure this stuff out.

I also need the vitamin D the grow lights give me. It's like being surrounded by sunshine. I'm going to sprout a few kush seeds and see if I can grow a few decent plants over the winter. Between that and the herbs and veggies, I should get to spend quite a bit of time in there getting my sun on. I've pulled my worm bin in there as well, so I can just sift out castings and get a jump on the spring while listening to gardening podcasts and dreaming of a better life.


It's not that we don't have a great life; we do. It can always be better though. Simpler. More in tune with nature and less in tune with the nature of our society. I know that we are feeling it but the kids are not. This is the life they know. The life their friends live.

I only hope they figure it out before they are in their forties like we did.

I guess I figured it out a lot earlier but I had this albatross around my neck that was holding me back. I also made a lot of poor choices when it comes to money companions almost everything.

Anyhow.


I'm just going to be laying low for a bit. I may post some stuff through the whaleshares cross posting tool, so if it works, something might pop up here. It won't be much though. Not that it ever was.

Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://changethetopic.com/time-to-refocus/

Sort:  

Haha! I pronounce the first R in February! Does that make me anal?

Glad you won't be dropping out completely. I enjoy your comments as much as your posts. Perhaps you could be a seasonal poster. I think the COM community would miss you if you left us completely.

Yeah, I'm not a cold turkey kind of guy.

I struggle here too sometimes. “Refocus” is such a good word. Everyone has different reasons for being here. There’s no right or wrong answer. Sounds like you are making the right decision for you, so kudos for that. Looking forward to the times I will still see you around.

Thanks, man. I knew I couldn't be the only one. I'm sure you'll still see me on your posts. I always like to check in on you when I can.

Great job refocusing. I tried having second accounts for very very brief amounts of time and it became blatantly obvious that I have so little time to manage one account that doing more than that was foolish. However I have quite a few accounts with cool names if there is ever a need for @wonder-woman to save the day lol

Will she have the lasso and bracelets?

haha well of course. And @jarjarbinks would be very annoying. Probably sharing actifit reports. And @clinteastwood would share pictures of everything that trespassed on his front lawn that day.

I'll miss you bud, but I totally get it. Sometimes we all need a break from here. I do like the look of your greenhouse too, and the grow lights are great when you're lacking sunshine.

We too "blew" money and in hindsight blah blah blah. That's why they say hindsight is 20/20. Don't drive yourself too crazy though; there's nothing you can do about the past.

I didn't know you had kids?

Oh, you'll still see me. I love going through and seeing what you two are up to. This will give me more time to keep up with others because as you well know, it's hard to do everything. That Whaleshares thing looks just like Steemit but they have something that lets you post to medium, whaleshares, steemit and some golos? thing. I may open accounts on all of them and just do generic posts to see what happens.

I really don't dwell on the past. I'm a firm believer in "the past led me to here" philosophy. If I hadn't have made those choices I wouldn't have found her and who knows where I would have ended up?

Yeah, Gerri has two girls that are 17 and 15. Once they graduate we are going to shift pretty drastically, I think.

That's good to hear. What do you mean on Whaleshares, "post to medium"?

I have the exact same philosophy!!

My boys were a bit younger when I met Brian (15 and 12), and once the youngest hit 18, our life "changed drastically" :) Pretty awesomely drastic actually!

Whaleshares has a tool that you can post to Steemit, Medium.com and I think it's called GOLOS or something like that, simultaneously.

The girls were 9 and 7 when we got together so I guess we've been together over 8 years now. Time flies when you're having fun.

Good to know. Thanks.

Brian and I have been together for about the same amount of time. No worries ... you two will have your time before you know it. Long days, short years :)

that snow plow looks badass, if you can make it throw winter blizzards you can weather through a Steem winter (it will get hot and shiny again.....and when it happens make sure you have your deodorant and swim shorts 😜, trust me you'll be sweating like a pig when it does)

hope you'll make it down sunny lifestyle come February, keep up with your plan looks like you're on your way to financial freedom 👍

we should totally remove R from some months, Octobe sound better like with a Russian accent

Oh, I can weather just about anything. It looks a lot easier to weather things when it isn't -30°C though.

Hi @profanereviews!

drugwars

Received:

  • 0.550 STEEM
  • 6.287 STEEM from daily
  • 0.882 STEEM from heist
  • 0.026 STEEM from referral

Spent:

  • 11.703 STEEM

Total:

  • -3.958 STEEM

First transfer was before 14.82 days.
Your ROI per day is 4.47 % and you are earning approx. 0.52 STEEM per day.
Break even in approx. 7.6 days.

!bookkeeping steemmonsters

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Chris Bird from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Buttcoins finds long lost post and see’s februrary has come and gone. 😢

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63283.09
ETH 2463.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54