Reflections in the Midst of Chaos

in #steempress6 years ago (edited)


One of the most chaotic scenes that law enforcement respond to are motor vehicle accidents. In some cases, there has been a enormous amount of energy released destructively through man and machine and the results are often catastrophic. These are situations that require the highest levels of concentration and emotional compartmentalization. So much of youhas to be set aside to get the job done. You are rolling at a break-neck pace towards and unknown event. I responded to one such event the other night.

Accident scenes are a funny thing. One that looks like a minor fender bender could be concealing a fatality and one with twisted, smoking wreckage could revel nothing more than a scratch or a bump on the head. The trick is that until you get on scene you have no idea what you are going to be wading into. The accident from the other night looked horrific at first glance. One SUV had turned in front of another SUV and the two had hit head-on at speeds reaching 55mph. There were pieces of metal and smoking vehicles littered across two lanes of highway and traffic on that side of the road and ground to a halt.

As soon as I arrived an hit the ground running, I was assaulted with the smells and stings of acrid smoke boiling out of the vehicles. My guys had arrived just before me and were checking on the occupants. One of the accident vehicle's horns was blaring at full blast and the other car was still running as it belched smoke, oil, transmission fluid, and radiator coolant across the highway. My guys signal to me that the injuries are minor despite the appearance of the wrecked vehicles. I start to try to pry the hood open to get the horn to stop stabbing ice picks into my ear drums! As I am slipping and sliding and fighting the twisted metal of the vehicle in the sweltering sun of a southern afternoon, my eyes are drawn to a bright glint at my feet. Half-buried among the fluids and debris was a perfectly spherical ball bearing winking at me. It was such a surreal moment to have all of the chaos ensuing around me and then everything faded to a whisper as I looked at the mirrored surface and saw my sweaty self reflected back at me. I bent down and plucked the ball bearing from the wreckage and slid into my pants pocket.

I instantly went back to the task at hand and neutralized the horn. I then turned my attention to getting the other vehicle turned off and getting some wreckers there to clear the area as my guys directed traffic and gathered the information for the report. We easily slid into the robotic role of getting the job done and the highway clear. Jumping from task to task in a seamless fashion. The wreckage was removed, the spills erased, the injured transported to the hospital, and we mount back up and ride out with little trace that we were ever there or that three people we just a few short feet from destruction.

I meet with my guys in a nearby parking lot to debrief them and go over what we did right and what we can improve upon in the future. They head out and I crank up the A/C and take the ball bearing out of my pocket. I am again struck by it's simplistic, spherical beauty. I am reminded, as I have been so many times in my career, that beauty is found is so many places where we least expect it. That in the midst of this chaos there was a wondrous treasure at my feet beckoning for my attention. We need to me more mindful of finding beauty where we think it may not be. Would should embrace the possibility that we may not know all or see all of any given situation. Just moments before this ball bearing was hidden with the workings of a machine that the operator felt was confidently safe as sitting on his couch. Things change. Embrace each moment with purpose.

As I sat in my patrol car and stared at my tiny refection in the ball bearing, I mused that so too do I see my refection in all of the good and evil I come into contact with each day. How both the good and the bad has touched my soul and found a kindred spirit. We are all made up of sinner and saints. But for the grace of God go I. Most days I see the worst we have to offer as a society, but every now and then, on rare occasions, I see the sublime. I see us taking care of each other. I see hope. I get to witness redemption........

If you made it this far in this post, I hope it made an impact on you. If it did, make a thoroughly conscious, deliberate attempt to do something for someone tomorrow who can never hope to pay you back. That is were immortality lies. I love you all.

Previously published on my Weku blog at this link.


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://papacrusher.vornix.blog/2018/10/02/reflections-in-the-midst-of-chaos/


All photos and videos are my own creation unless otherwise noted.

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

themancave


All That Is Gold Does Not Glitter,
Not All Those Who Wander Are Lost
-Tolkien

Sort:  

Amazing post. I also commented & upvoted on weku.

Thanks @byn! You have always been so good with supporting me. I really do appreciate it!

This is a great post, I love your inside looks at a very tough job.

I’ve only responded to a couple MVAs so far as an EMT, and they were all minor damage to vehicles with no occupant injuries. Without fail, law is first on scene. My hat is off to you all for being the first first responders. As you said, you never know what you’re about to see...

Are you all hiring? 😅

It is definitely an eye-opening world. I've seen some of the best and worst we have to offer.

Nice post bro...Really nice. Respect.

Thank you, Australian me! lol I appreciate you taking the time to read it and reflect.

It can be a great thing to do something nice for someone that can not pay you back.

It is one of the greatest feelings in the world. It becomes extremely addictive.

Hi @papacrusher!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.057 which ranks you at #9375 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 298 contributions, your post is ranked at #158.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

howdy sir papacrusher! wow..I'm thankful that the accident wasn't one with serious injuries, it almost doesn't sound possible with that kind of destruction but anything like that for most of us reminds us of the important things in life and you probably have that reminder almost everyday!
Great post, excellently written and powerful! God keep you safe sir papacrusher!

It always amazes me how something so destructive can avoid serious injury.

sir papcrusher! have you noticed a difference from the vehicle crashes that you used to see in comarison to the ones you see now as far as injuries?

I was wondering if the vehicles now days were safer?
I forget how long you've been an officer.

I think the vehicles have more safety features, but they are much more fragile in my opinion. I think the combination of increased safety measures and the huge push for seat belt and safety seats have really curbed injuries.

sir papacrusher! oh I see, well as long as the injuries and deaths are going down then that's a good thing, what do you think about self driving vehicles which are supposed to be so much safer?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63659.40
ETH 3075.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01