You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Monster Linux Laptops in 2018

in #steempress6 years ago

I didn't always have good results running Linux on Dell Laptops like the XPS L702, great machine but it's nvidia graphics card never ran right under Linux. It did teach me to render video using on board graphics and I still do today; I render 4K video with an MSI mobo, Intel i7 4770 and 16GB ddr3. Sometimes I wish I had a GPU because I now run 2 Cameras and depending on available light they color differently; there is no way for me to correct this without a GPU; the machine seizes. It'll be interesting to see what you end up with and how it performs. Greetings!

Sort:  

yes, with linux on AMD is getting much hotter with drivers issues. i would prefer nvidia+intel hardware for linux distros

I agree with that for sure. I would only get nvidea + intel. Too many mixed reviews for the other stuff.

I'm not a fan of proprietary drivers either so if working drivers aren't included in the major distros I tend to shy away from the associated hardware.

From what I can tell, Nvidia works best with the proprietary drivers at this time. I'll do more looking into that and I'll probably start out with free drivers to see if I am happy with them.

Ultimately, I'll have to go with whatever seems to work best. I'll cross my fingers and hope for the best.

I went ahead with a Lenovo P52. I didn't even list it as an option up there, but it has it all. Now I wait to make sure it gets to me. I ordered it on Purse.io and there are any number of reasons for the purchase to fail. I plan to do a full review/ update as I go.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87