20 Best Travel Moments of 2018

in #steempress6 years ago (edited)


The curtains coming to a close in 2018 and a new chapter opens up into 2019. What a year it's been! Life has its ups and downs, greatness and challenges. But no matter how happy or how tough it has been, I've always been grateful to live every single day and wake up the next morning.

There are plenty of moments and memories that I'll take with me through my lifetime and 2018 is another year to stamp in the album of mine. But I live as humbled, appreciative and thankful for everything that has happened to me, good and hardships.

Since I live with a positive mindset (because positive vibes breeds goodness), I want to share my 20 best travel moments of 2018 with you all. Most importantly, thanks to each and every one of you that have been there to enjoy watching, reading and seeing the world with me.

Read: From Me to You: Merry Christmas!

Closing the Chapter

I do it because I live with passion and believe that life should be lived in doing what makes us happy, as much as we can. And to think in the 1.5 years I've been doing this, I couldn't have seen it grow and inspire the way it has to people around the world. So to you reading right now, thank you.

Wishing each and every one of you a very Happy New Year 2019, and may it lead to plenty of prosperity, blessings, happiness, success and strength in the upcoming year. Here are my top 20 highlights of 2018, enjoy and Keep Being Awesome!

20. Norwegian TV Series Production

ONE TECH TRAVELLER 2018 HIGHLIGHTS NORWEGIAN TVWorking with Kristofer Hivju who plays Tormund Giantsbane in Games of Thrones

I stumbled into playing as an extra in a Norwegian TV series production called 'Twins' in Lofoten Islands, Norway. I went without knowing they were shooting and happened to be staying around the area they were shooting for a couple of days.

Next thing I know, I'm in quite a few shooting scenes, visibly in the background or feeding off the atmosphere with the actors and actresses. Highlight for me is playing an active (albeit very short part) speaking role with an actress which was super awesome. Being in front of the camera with the production crew, scene with a Swedish actress and interactions on/ off scene with Kristofer Hivju, who plays Tormund Giantsbane in Game of Thrones. Wow.  A great and down to earth guy I had the pleasure of meeting!

[letsreviewlist title="" design="modern" order="1" source="1" postid="6561" proscons="off"]

19. Living in Kamakura


KAMAKURA JAPAN ONE TECH TRAVELLER HIGHLIGHTS Kamakura, Japan © One Tech Traveller

Over the week I stayed in Kamakura, I really grew fond of Kamakura in Japan. Quite a touristy place with the dozens of shrines dotted around, but I found the lifestyle to be refreshing. The beachfront a minute away, jogging along the beachside, walk to Enoshima Lighthouse, slowed down lifestyle, and rich heritage. Shoutout to my friends I made at WeBase Kamakura (awesome and recommend the place).

Read: Paths of Damyang Bamboo Forest

18. Damyang Bamboo Forest, Korea

SOLO SOUTH KOREA KEEP BEING AWESOME TOUR ONE TECH TRAVELLER DAMYANG FOREST (1)Damyang Bamboo Forest, South Korea © One Tech Traveller

The Bamboo Forest in Damyang is special place in Korea. While staying in Gwangju, I didn't know the place existed until I learned about it from a Korean friend. We both set out together by bus and since this time of the year is low season, the forest was practically empty. It's a place that offers so much solace, thought and reflection. The forest gracefully tall with several paths to wander, make this a calm and tranquil place to seek.

[letsreviewlist title="" design="modern" order="1" source="1" postid="4832" proscons="off"]

Read: Blue Pond and Falls of Hokkaidoo

17. Blue Pond in Biei, Hokkaido

BIEI HOKKAIDO ONE TECH TRAVELLER SHIROGANE BLUE POND AERIALBlue Pond, Hokkaido © One Tech Traveller

If you can brave the cold, the Blue Pond in Hokkaido, Japan is an absolute treat. The Blue Pond is a spectacle under white powder snow; a worthwhile trek to visit by car or coach from Sapporo. Shirogane Falls is a fairly short walk or bus ride to reach and worth seeing, before returning to Asahikawa. The vibrant blue stands out strikingly against the snow.

[letsreviewlist title="" design="modern" order="1" source="1" postid="5169" proscons="off"]

16. Iconic Capture at Osaka Castle


OSAKA CASTLE JAPAN ONE TECH TRAVELLEROsaka Castle, Japan © One Tech Traveller

I captured one of my favourite shots over my 9 month tour here in Osaka, Japan. Wandering for hours around the castle to catch different angles and perspectives, everything in this moment clicked.

This picture personally serves as a reminder how far I've come in the 2 years I've done photography. Oblivious but looking back from now, the journey has been truly special for me. And each travel photography is a conduit of all the experiences I had in each place.

Read: What it's like Living in Hong Kong

15. West Buffalo Hill, Hong Kong

WEST BUFFALO HILL HONG KONG ONE TECH TRAVELLER

I've hiked quite a few trails in Hong Kong, but West Buffalo Hill is a notable favourite. The expansive landscape leaves plenty to be adored, with the top offering 360 degree views of New Territories. Lying between Sai Kung and Sha Tin, the hike is a refreshing trail that strikes a great exercise. Together with my Spartan Race friends in Hong Kong, we had a fun, sweaty, humid time, rounding the day with Din Tai Fung.

Read: Around Japan Keep Being Awesome Tour

14. Tea Picking in Fuji, Shizuoka

GREEN TEA FUJI SHIZUOKA ONE TECH TRAVELLER

I always like to experience local life and this was a great lens into Fuji, Shizuoka. Sano Tea Factory is a family run tea field that cultivate a variety of tea year-long. The day was an informative and enjoyable way to learn about this tea field's history, as we got to pick our own green tea leaves to brew at home. A friendly family that caters to small visitation groups, I have a lasting memory here which overlooks Mt. Fuji.

[letsreviewlist title="" design="modern" order="1" source="1" postid="7049" proscons="off"]

13. Boseong Green Tea Field, Korea


SOLO SOUTH KOREA KEEP BEING AWESOME TOUR ONE TECH TRAVELLER BOSEONGBoseong Tea Fields, Jeollanam-do © One Tech Traveller

From Suncheon I visited Boseong Green Tea Field for the day. Still in the cold winters, the place was void of people, so I had the grounds essentially to myself (notice a pattern?). Fields a maze of tea that lead up to a panoramic view from the top. The aerial views were captivating as I enjoyed the solemn seclusion of nature. The uniformly arranged green tea fields are mesmerising and hope to come back in the summer to see how this place blossoms.

Read: Around Japan Keep Being Awesome Tour

12. Memories of Hiroshima, Japan

HIROSHIMA ATOMIC BOMB SITE JAPAN ONE TECH TRAVELLERHiroshima, Japan © One Tech Traveller

With all of its history, Hiroshima left a bold mark on me after leaving. The rate in which the city has rebuilt itself is remarkable, though respectfully still preserves the scars of history. Moreover, the memorial park is a powerful place, paying homage to Japanese, Koreans, Children and others caught up in the catastrophic atomic bombing in 1945. The more I learned about Hiroshima, I could feel the pains and unimaginative moment it was all laid to waste. I love Hiroshima for what it is now, and for the history it preserves til this day and will not forget the impact it had on me.

11. Austria Tourism Board Filming, Zillertal

AUSTRIA FILMING ONE TECH TRAVELLER HIGHLIGHT

That's me with a chill cow. Hehe. We spent a few days with the Austria Tourism Board filming crew as they captured us taking part in various activities! My +1 and I went: monster rolling (think scooter with large off-road wheels) downhill at great speed, golf driving range lesson, hiking Filzenkogel mountain, e-biking under the forest, surrounded by stunning mountain backdrops. I'm looking forward to seeing the final video campaign as it goes live in the next month or so :)

10. Spartan OCR Event in Hong Kong

SPARTAN RACE HONG KONG ONE TECH TRAVELLER SQUAD

Volunteering and racing Spartan Sprint in Hong Kong was a super dope experience. It was my first out of UK Spartan event where I made great friends, got my Spartan medal and keeping myself activity and busy in the three months I was there. Let's say I've come a long way from where I was physically, but will always be grateful for the friends I made because of the obstacle race event in Kam Tin Country Club.

Read: Snowy Exploration in Tangstad, Norway

9. Road Trip in Lofoten Islands

ARCTIC COWORKING LODGE REVIEW ONE TECH TRAVELLER TANGSTAD CO-LIVING SUNSET

Going with my friend on a road trip from Tangstad all the way down to Å (south of Lofoten Islands) stopping at Nusfjord, Hamnoy, Reine, Sakrisoy, Gimsoya, Unstad and Flakstad. She needed some location shots so we went in her spaceship (big van) and headed to each location. It was a whistle-stop day tour but I got to see many different landscapes, my favourite being Reine.

[letsreviewlist title="" design="modern" order="1" source="1" postid="6514" proscons="off"]

Read: Bringing the Dance Energy in Hongdae

8. Dance Busking in Hongdae, Seoul

BUSKING HONGDAE SEOUL ONE TECH TRAVELLER FREESTYLE

Hongdae in Seoul - a young night scene full of energy, people and dancing on the streets. I watched the passion of people singing and dancing to crowds that listened intently. Next thing I know, I was dragged into a dance circle by a local busker. eek. Everyone watched, surrounding in a circle with me in the middle, waiting for something to drop. Reluctant at first, I knew inside I wanted to show what I could do.. and I brought the heat.

Adrenaline was sky-high as I danced a few times over my month in Seoul, even until Christmas Eve to support the charity we raised donations for. It felt amazing to do something using skills I have, but has been under-utilised... to share those skills and bring smiles to those watching is priceless.

Sadly no one recorded a video, but you can read about the night in my story (Charity Dance Busking in Seoul). To make up for it, here was my dance video I did in Hong Kong as part of my 'Keep Being Awesome' tour. Think I'm long overdue for another. :)

[button color="red" size="normal" alignment="center" rel="follow" openin="newwindow" url="https://onetechtraveller.com/busking-in-hongdae-seoul/"]Charity Dance Busking Story[/button]

7. Hyatt and Jungmun Life in Jeju Island


HYATT REGENCY JEJU KOREA REVIEW ONE TECH TRAVELLER PRESIDENTIAL SUITE VIEWHyatt Regency Jeju Island © One Tech Traveller

Jeju Island allowed me to slow down and have a break from daily explorations. After arriving from Gimhae to Jeju airport by plane, I hopped on the coach to Hyatt Regency Jeju where pretty much paradise awaited. Jungmun beach, 5-star luxury resort and island ocean waves... it was a blissful moment. I could recover, take beach walks, wake up to dawn breaking over the sea and the luxuriousness yet comfortable hotel.

I even rode the e-bike that you can hire from Hyatt Regency Jeju and cycled all the way to Jeongbangpokpo Falls (정방폭포), a 3 hour cycle round trip. The journey was impeccable as I soaked the fresh island air... Jeju has a unique charm which after staying in different parts of the island, I could now, finally understand.

[letsreviewlist title="" design="modern" order="1" source="1" postid="5512" proscons="off"]

Read: Chasing the Norway Northern Lights


6. Northern Lights in Norway


NORTHERN LIGHTS NORWAY ONE TECH TRAVELLER BORGAurora Borealis © One Tech Traveller

Starstruck to a see a natural phenomenon, the northern lights in Lofoten Islands, Norway. It was the first and only time over the 6 weeks but to be honest, what I saw was more than enough for me to be happy. With a KP rating of 5, all the elements aligned for a bright, luminous sky, pulsating with waves that glisten in the night. A blissful moment where I could really connect with Norway.

[letsreviewlist title="" design="modern" order="1" source="1" postid="6611" proscons="off"]

Read: Snow-filled Climb to Bukhansan

5. Climbing Bukhansan in Seoul

BUKHANSAN SEOUL ONE TECH TRAVELLER HORIZON Bukhansan, Korea © One Tech Traveller

At 836m, Bukhansan near Seoul, Korea is not that tall by any means, however the nature in which I climbed it will always be memorable. Still struck ill with the flu, footsteps plumped deep under thick snow, and bitter cold winds of -10 degrees that went straight through me; I climbed Bukhansan on my own and was rewarded with a gorgeous surrounding, the city of Seoul in sight. The climb, the snow, the slight worries all built up to a really satisfying accomplishment for me as it was my first climbing up a mountain of such a height and the circumstances. At the top standing by the Korean flag was a surreal experience for me. I just had to go back down after. :)

[letsreviewlist title="" design="modern" order="1" source="1" postid="6193" proscons="off"]

4. Sunrise view of Mt Fuji, Japan


MT FUJI JAPAN ONE TECH TRAVELLER HIGHLIGHTSMt Fuji, Japan © One Tech Traveller

As a photographer, Mt. Fuji is a must because of its scenic landscape and large demeanor at nearly 4,000m high. Sunrise was an unforgettable experience as I watched it twice from Lake Kawaguchiko and Chureito Pagoda ( 忠霊塔 ). Both offer astounding views of Mt Fuji, while the latter is a worthwhile journey to reach for that sweeping view of the city - we arrived at 4.30am and watched the light rise over the horizon for a spectacular view. Truly a breathtaking landscape that had me in awe.

3. Trifecta Spartan Beast in Windsor, UK

SPARTAN RACE ASTON DOWN UK ONE TECH TRAVELLER

Been a Spartan Warrior for a few years, but this year was a breakthrough success for me. It's become a family thing as we group together to take on the obstacle races which is really nice as we bond together with camaraderie. Spartan Beast was a daunting obstacle race that would test me physically and mentally. I completed the 23km Spartan Beast in Windsor to complete my trifecta collection of Super in Aston Down and Sprint in Martson Lodge.

It rained all day - the cold reaching near zero as we trudged through the mud, waded through lakes and trekked over hills in soaking wet clothes. The physical and mental test is intense, but has definitely helped push me to go beyond what I think I'm capable of. Spartan has always been an unforgettable experience... and the Beast is my most rewarding accomplishment so far. My Sprint, Super and Beast medals a testament of that.

2. Featured in Qatar Airways Magazine

SMART TRAVELLERS FRONT PAGE

Still something that I've not really comprehend but one that makes me feel so proud. I was featured in Qatar Airways (top airline in 2017) over a 6 page spread, which recognises me and what I've built with One Tech Traveller, sharing my journey and travel insights of 'travelling smart'. I heroed the Smart Traveller feature which included alongside 2 other travellers, my interview in arabic and even shared the contents page with Kate Winslet. Unbelievable.

I had the interview and photoshoot in Causeway Bay, Hong Kong. A few months later, I came published in the February, 2018 issue of the Oryx magazine. Distributed across Qatar Airway lounges and airports around the world, to be featured in it is greatly humbling and a privilege. I've sacrificed many things to focus on building my dreams and to be recognised is a truly rewarding moment for me. Emotionally even.

My parents and close friends congratulated me, sharing the same bright-eyes when they saw me in print. Crazily, I was even told by a few friends and fans I've met on my Keep Being Awesome Tour how they saw me on their flight in the magazine. It gives me energy to keep doing what I'm doing. Truly thankful, grateful and blessed.

[button color="red" size="normal" alignment="center" rel="follow" openin="newwindow" url="https://onetechtraveller.com/qatar-airways-smart-travellers/"]Qatar Airways Magazine Story[/button]

1. Climbing Hallasan in Jeju Island, Korea


HALLASAN SOUTH KOREA ONE TECH TRAVELLERHallasan, Jeju Island © One Tech Traveller

So my top moment of 2018? Climbing the tallest mountain in Korea, Hallasan. Just under 2000m high, again it was the demeanour in which I reached the peak under bitter, cold conditions, going solo and without any spike shoes for grip (just my cross-terrain shoes, I know, I know, I'm crazy).

Waking up at 5am, I climbed my way up the mountain, treated with a gorgeous crater filled with snow. I stayed for two hours before making the treacherous trek down in my cross-terrain shoes, sometimes defying death as I hung onto the rope at the peak without any guards. I actually ended up snowboarding in them down too funnily enough. The whole journey was a beautiful experience where I pushed myself mentally and stayed calm in trying conditions. The sky went from foggy to clear to sunny so I was lucky to see Hallasan in full spectacle. This has always been something I've been proud of and is my best moment of 2018.

So there you have it, my top 20 best travel moments in 2018. What will 2019 bring? Hopefully more epic and memorable moments to come. As I concrete my 2019 resolution commitments, be on the look out of what you can expect from me!

Keep Being Awesome,
One Tech Traveller

Commemoration Moment

KIM JONGHYUN MEMORIAL SERVICE ONE TECH TRAVELLER WEST BUILDING

Sometimes unfortunate and tragic moments happen in our lives. I want to commemorate Kim Jonghyun, who passed away, taking his own life after suffering in silence of depression. He was a loved member of Kpop group SHINee and my favourite of the group. As a person, his kindness to others goes without saying and his heart pure in sentiment. It happened when I was in Seoul and has been a moment I will always take with me. I paid my respect in the hospital he was brought to and shared the heartache of someone who brought happiness to many. Keep Shinin' from above.



Discover Travel Stories & Gear Reviews on my website at One Tech Traveller : https://onetechtraveller.com/norway-northern-lights-lofoten-islands/

My Photography on Instagram
My Videos on YouTube

Sort:  

Congratulations @onetechtraveller! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 50 comments. Your next target is to reach 100 comments.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60249.61
ETH 2321.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51