You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dear CryptoDeaf 02/22/2018

in #steempress7 years ago (edited)

I find women tend to be more social than men who tend to be more practical. Men should complement women and not necessarily try to be against them. I once had a deaf female friend who was discriminated against to death, so your one size fits all opinion is not what I've seen of the deaf community. Still, it's a very interesting insight that I enjoyed reading. UV/RS.

Sort:  

I'm aware female deafs get discriminated against to, it's just it does go to show why the female deaf population has a much lower unemployment rate than the male deafs. 60% unemployment rate for deaf women vs 78% unemployment rate for deaf men.

I'm sure the reasons are more complex that you might think. To label prejudices against them does not make us understand those reasons any more fully. Just try the gender pay gap for example. Such are the arguments of the postmodernists. Their agenda is one of discrimination and control without debate. That is why Jordan Peterson is one of my favourite heroes. Enjoy the captions my friend :)

I'm aware of postmodernism and I too am a fan of Jordan Peterson. The thing is that there is discrimination against the deaf in the workplace, this is a fact, there's far too many misconceptions about us. I still even get people that insist that I can't be deaf because I can speak for example.

Being a Peterson fan yourself, You should be aware that while there is no real gender pay gap due to discrimination namely among the genders with the rare exception here and there that could be attributed to as such, there's however, a demonstrable fact of discrimination among the disabled.

Including among the deaf even. Many employers feel by and large that hiring a deaf person is too unreasonable because of our accessibility needs, even though many of us from the mainstreamed society can typically lip read. If an employer sees someone with a disability trying to obtain employment, they weigh in whether or not they can provide reasonable accommodations because they do want those tax credits for "removing barriers".

There's also tax credits for employers who hire women and racial minorities and the disabled, however the employer is more apt to hire a deaf woman over a deaf male, on account that the company literally gets a bonus for two things instead of one.

You are aware of these factors yes?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62827.81
ETH 2583.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73