Introducing Dr. Mike to SteemPress: The Curiosities of Medicine for all Audiences

in #steempress6 years ago (edited)

Greetings everyone! Both to those reading me for the first time, as well as those who have already read my writings. August has brought me more occupations than I thought, so I have not had much time to dedicate to Stemit. However, I have been able to find time to start a new project that I hope will grow over time (and with your help), as well as a blog created in WordPress. Hope you like it!

Some time ago, my good friend @korotkov told me about a new plugin in WordPress, a blogging platform, with which you could link your Steemit account to a personal blog, and be able to publish on both platforms simultaneously. I admit that, at the time, I did not pay much attention, partly because although I enjoy writing articles, I had never felt able to create such a personalized space with a quality that I could consider according to my own (and high) self-imposed standards (and partly because I was paying more attention to the waiting line in the cafeteria, seeing who I could ask to buy me a coffee so as not to waste hours of my time). However, I admit that he has a silver tongue more typical of a real estate agent than of a medical student, so, after he appealed to my ego, he got me to consider the idea more and more, until I decided to make it a reality.



And well, here I am, creating my first simultaneous publication on both platforms, and presenting my new project. As those reading me from Steemit can surely notice, I have changed my image to what I hope will become, in the long-term, a recognized brand: Dr. Mike (I recognize that I have a couple of years to be a doctor, but it sounds better than "undergraduate Mike). Along with the name change comes a new image, and a new header. But these changes are small compared to what I have in mind. Allow me to explain:

Although some of my articles have differed from the subject, the main topic of my blog is Medicine. I know very well that for many it may seem a boring, complex, and very specialized subject, only to be enjoyed by those who have previous experience or knowledge in the health industry. However I have found a lot of people, both on the internet and outside of it, that show interest in various aspects of medicine, but the way in which most of the texts on the subject are written does not allow them to understand a lot. I have come to change that.



I believe I summarize it well in the slogan of my blog: "The curiosities of medicine, for all audiences." I will look for the strangest, bizarre, unusual (excess of synonyms for greater emphasis) and interesting aspects of the medical world, and bring them to you as articles, either individual ones or separated in series, written in a way that is easy to understand, using a relatively simple vocabulary, to keep you from feeling overwhelmed with terms such as cystoureteropyelonephritis (inflammation of the entire urinary tract). Also, I will leave some of my sarcastic and irreverent personality in each article, to make them as unique as I can.

Of course, this is not all. In addition to publishing my posts and series, such as "Medical Mysteries", "Rare Diseases" or "Tales from a Night On-Call", in the future I hope to interact more with you, dear readers, and to turn the name of Dr. Mike into a true brand. I plan to do this through activities such as offering SBD prizes to those who create short, well-researched articles on medical topics that I would propose every so often, in a kind of contest in which would win the most unique and interesting writing. After all, nobody comes to Steemit or WordPress to study; we come here to entertain ourselves. The topics can vary your own stories, posts on little-known diseases (an infinite subject, because the universe will always find new ways to make us suffer), or the most bizarre adverse effects that medicines can have. Of course, those are just some of the ideas that come to mind, and if you have suggestions, I'm all ears (and eyes).



With all this I plan to promote the growth of the scientific community of Steemit, and at the same time make it more inclusive, so that there is also content that interests audiences without much experience or extensive studies in the subjects at hand. Now, I recognize that all this may sound s bit idealistic, but I know that Steemit, and the internet in general, is full of interesting and talented people, and if any of the contests I plan to do inspire them to write and eventually be recognized as creators of quality content, everything will be worth it. Finally, although this is an idea that I will start to execute individually, I do not rule out that soon @korotkov will join me, and if someone else, be it an individual or a community, share my vision, I am open to collaborations, everything is for the growth of the steemian community in general.

Without further ado, I leave the link of my blog below, in which I will upload the old articles that I have already written during the following days, and the promise that great things will come. Thanks for taking the time to read this! And I hope you will accompany me. Dr. Mike bids you farewell for now.



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://mike961.timeets.xyz/2018/08/24/introducing-dr-mike-to-steempress-the-curiosities-of-medicine-for-all-audiences/



Publicado desde mi blog: SteemPress : http://mike961.timeets.xyz/2018/08/24/introducing-dr-mike-to-steempress-the-curiosities-of-medicine-for-all-audiences/
Sort:  

Hey Dr. Mike,

This is a very nice post, which I enjoyed reading.

However, it is irrelevant to Utopian, as it does not deal with open source in any way. I strongly recommend that you read our guidelines to get an idea of what we're looking for. You can also read our Weekly Top of Utopian.io posts (here's the latest one) to see what kinds of posts we particularly like in our various categories.

I hope to see posts related to open source from you. Maybe about an open source project in the medical field? That would be cool, and would definitely call for using our tags, as long as the guidelines are followed.

Thank you for your time.

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Write a ticket on https://support.utopian.io/.
Chat with us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Thank you for your review, @didic!

So far this week you've reviewed 4 contributions. Keep up the good work!

Congratulations @mike961! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63548.34
ETH 2646.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74