You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: On Mandela Day: things that shaped this South African

in #steempress6 years ago

Fascinating post @fionasfavourites & beautifully written! What I know now is that we were fed so many untruths at school about the history of SA whilst growing up in apartheid South Africa. I remember how my dad could never be alone in the car with our domestic worker because of the Immorality Act. So the first time I went with, I remember the horror of seeing where this dear women lived; I was still a small child but remember thinking the worst thing ever must be being born black because I would never want to live in a place like that! Little did I know that this was Apartheid!
Like you, I do have a lot of hope for SA still, Madiba's legacy must live on!

Sort:  

Thank you @lizelle. I also remember that experience of going with my father to take one of our domestic workers home and having to sit in the front while she sat in the back. I didn't understand, either. And yes, the conditions were appalling. On a recent visit to Soweto I was amazed how things had changed in the same areas where we used to party: tar roads, gardens, fences and smart homes. Lots of evident pride. It was marvellous. And I'm hearing of people moving back to the lokshun. A long way we have come. A long way to go.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61113.33
ETH 2927.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69