Momentum

in #steempress6 years ago (edited)

Alright, here we go, finally a post after HF20 :)

Don't show that frown face, I'm not going to talk more about this hardfork. Not that it sucks (well, I admit, it kinda sucked for a day or two), but there are just too many peeps talking about it right now. Let's choose a topic which is close to the hardfork thingy, but not directly ranting at how successful it is, shall we?

So here we are, momentum.



Source

If you had been following my profile or blog for a while, then you might have noticed that I am really giving myself a good holiday for weeks. Yeah, at the time of writing I'm still at the second last day of the semester break which lasted for one full month, and I am kinda amazed at how I managed to almost totally put Steemit aside for the entire holiday. There's no line such as "stay offline for more time" in my holiday plans (I don't even have one), but things just pop up here and there and I choose to put more attention on them instead of writing something. Interested on what happened? Just bookmark the blog and come back every two days :)

One of those stuff that came out is, of course, HF20.

Right after I posted my last one with those lantern photographs, the hardfork happened as expected. What came out unexpected is how it affected the network as everyone here should understand better than me. Well, it's Steemit beta anyways, you cannot expect things to go smoothly all the time...

As the network slowly recovered, we got our posting ability back and as for now my RC mana bar is at 100%. However, voting mana isn't too happy, it's still recovering (74.6%) at the time of writing. That effectively lowers the payout of most posts now to a pretty sad level since people are not able to vote as they wish and of course bid bots and vote buying does not work as expected too.

Of course, if you are writing for the payout then this is a legit excuse to stop posting and slack for the moment. But in a random chat in TeamMalaysia's Discord, someone (I forgot who) mentioned that they should continue posting, otherwise they would lose the momentum to do so even when the network is fully recovered.

Hmm...right, momentum.



Source

Once we put something into our schedule and push ourselves to do it according to it, after some time, it becomes a habit-like­ thing. It starts rolling and we will be automatically pushed to do it even without forcing ourselves to do so. Once this happens, it will be extra easy to follow the schedule because it already forms the inertia and it will keep on going like that unless something try to alter or stop it. At least this is what the definition of inertia in my memory says :P

Breaking the habit or the schedule, no matter intentionally or unintentionally is going to put a force to alter the rolling thing. Once it go out of track, you don't normally expect it to move as expected anymore. So if that happens, you might just quit doing it even when you can do so.

I have to admit, this is the main reason why I have stopped posting for about 3 weeks before finally shooting something out. I broke the momentum during the first few days of the holiday and there I go, slacking and stuff like that because I don't feel the urge to write something. I sure have stuff to write, but there is just nothing to push me to write stuff. You know, humans are okay being static for quite some time as long as it is comfortable, and indeed we love it when there's no momentum to make us move. You don't need to experiment it to feel it - just recall those school holidays or leaves you get from your office, and how Mondays always make people go blue. I'm telling you here because, it is indeed probable that once you try that, I will not hear from you on Steemit anymore :P


The term momentum is also somewhat interesting if you put it in another way.


Source

In physics, momentum is known as the product of mass and velocity. That being said, the higher the mass and the higher the velocity, the higher the momentum the thing brings, and of course the more impactful it can be. The impact is also kinda interesting - how impactful some collision is normally depends on the momentum of both colliding objects. The larger the difference, the higher the impacting force.

So, if you like what you are doing now, you can do it with more effort - pushing it with more force and add more momentum to it. If you are doing something big, it ends up with larger momentum. Small? It's okay, they grow if you push more.

But no matter how big the momentum is, you need something to impact on - and to make the impact meaningful you need to reach a receiving party that - when impacted - cause changes within them. If you built something very awesome, but does not throw that on the most needing party, the momentum is there, but it will never turn into something useful. Just visualize a bullet flying pointlessly in space with nothing to hit, why did it started flying anyways?

Coincidentially, HF20 is codenamed Velocity and it brings a huge amount of changes...

With the amount of velocity and mass, it impacted the entire Steemit community with its super huge momentum. We all know what happened next :P

See? Momentum can impact stuff in many ways, use your momentum for good. And, make sure that it impacts correctly :)


Now I guess I have to rebuild my writing and posting momentum all the way from scratch again. It shouldn't be too hard, right? Maybe I'll start from some of the cool stuff during the holidays.

No excuses about insufficient time I guess, like the quote from one of the friends I have online, make time.

Let's do our job and use our momentum for the better ;)

See you around,

--Lilacse


Posted from my blog with SteemPress.

Sort:  

I upvoted your post.

Mabuhay, keep steeming.
@Filipino

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62922.70
ETH 2543.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83