Glad to see the back of Dec 2019... Bring on 2020

in #steempress5 years ago


You know when you just have one of those weeks you want to forget???

Well December certainly bought one of those to the table !!

The weekend it all started to go wrong when it should have been a good one.

Saturday

  • My daughters 10th birthday party (celebrating early)
  • 12 kids
  • Starting with a game of bowling
  • Next walk over to the indoor climbing
  • Followed by food

Sunday

  • My daughter taking part in a Christmas skating show
  • Lunch out

Sounds like a busy but good weekend. However, on the Saturday morning prior to the party, I write this with tears in my eyes, my grandad sadly passed away after battling an awful disease over the last 5 years. I received the phone call just as I had arrived at my daughters house, not the ideal timing with the proceeding events of the next 2 days but something I would have to deal with as I did not want to ruin my daughters weekend by being upset in front of her or worse telling her of the sad news.

Monday - Thursday

So, the weekend had passed, I had managed to keep it together and my daughter had a wonderful weekend, making me very proud of her performance in the show. I had managed in between to speak to some of my family and managed a visit on the Sunday evening to see my Grandma at this very sad time.

Back to work...

As expected, I was very quiet and just got my head down and not really mentioned to anyone about the weekend's bad news. I just wanted Friday to come quickly as I had booked the last day of work off in anticipation of doing any last-minute Christmas chores.

Thursday arrived finally and I was unusually ready for this break, normally over the Christmas period with the 2 week shutdown I get very bored and agitated but this year felt different. I said my Happy Christmases to my colleagues and wished them well for their breaks, and promptly left looking forward to the time off. That evening however I received a message regarding a meeting I needed to attend the next day much to my dismay.

Well I could not make the meeting as I had already made plans, I could not break so I said I would come in afterwards to see what it was about.

Friday

I got up for the first time in a long time with no alarm and it felt goooood, went on my merry way and did the things I had planned, and then proceeded as I mentioned to head to work to see what was going on. When I arrived at my workplace of nearly 19 years, I noticed the car park was pretty empty bar a few cars which was strange. We never normally finish early on the last day and certainly not at midday.

Sparing the details, when I arrived the administrators were in and the company I have grown up in and spent nearly half my life working for had gone. Very sad times for the 70 who worked there.

Losing someone close compounded by being unemployed just before Christmas was a bit of a shock to the system and with the Christmas period only just coming to end now, if I am honest neither still have quite sunk in yet.

So, there we have it, the week I wish to forget!!! So, what next???

Well on a personal level obviously as a family we have been dealing with our loss privately, all I can say is family is important and make the most of the time you have got on this earth with them xxx

Professionally...

Well today should have been my first day back. I have avoided crap daytime TV and have spent my morning being productive. I have a few options currently and am talking to a few companies who may want to procure my services, but I also have a few things running for myself.

Despite this bad week at the end of last year I am super positive for the coming year. Sometimes we need that shock to the system to get us out of a stagnant situation even if you do not realise you are in one. This whole work situation kind of reminds me a little about why I first started writing this blog especially the paragraph from my first welcome post.

"Life is ever evolving and even if we set ourselves goals and you think you know where your destination is, you may not end up there. Afterall life changes, people change and targets change, but make sure you enjoy it along the way"

Time to continue on my Path to somewhere......



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://pathtosomewhere.com/2020/01/02/glad-to-see-the-back-of-dec-2019-bring-on-2020/
Sort:  

Congratulations @kelvinwood! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - A better rich list comparator
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60309.00
ETH 2342.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55