5 Months Of Challenges To A Challenging Month

in #steempress6 years ago


Sickness, Injuries and Christmas


Heh,

So as 2018 is approaching its final hours, I have started to reflect on what has been an amazing 6 months of transformation for me personally. If you have seen my other posts you will know I have made so many positive steps forward both physically and mentally.

How?

Well apart from trying so many new things and getting back into physical and mental development, from simple running and meditation to taking up once again the sport I loved many moons ago, I have also set myself monthly challenges. Check out here.

However....

This last month has been very frustrating.. I decided that I would not set a December challenge except carry on my daily meditation which is still going strong :)

Why frustrating?

Well it has been a mix of things really.

  1. I fell ill with a virus bug that kept me in bed for a whole weekend but the effects ended up lasting around 2 1/2 weeks.
  2. Then the good old knee injury reared its ugly head, sorted now though.
  3. As you can see from the feature image of this post I damaged my finger and am still taking a prescription to try to get the inflammation down.
  4. On top of all this it's been Christmas, drinks, food and general laziness, chilling out, call it what you will.
All of the above has affected me more than I thought!!!

I haven't been involved in any physical activity for the whole of the month. A big come down from doing something at least 5 times a week previously.

My healthy eating has gone completely out of the window, snacking on crap and rich stodgy foods instead of the tasty nutritional foods I was eating just a few short weeks ago.

Drinking a bit more alcohol for the sake of it, no reason at all for it apart from maybe boredom.

I have gained nearly a stone back on in weight, to be fair I was getting too skinny but I wanted to gain good weight not what I am guessing is bad weight.

My motivation just hasn't been there and I was fighting to get it back and falling miserably in doing so.

So where to now?


I have been planning on writing this post for a couple of weeks but I have not had the motivation to sit on my arse in front of the screen and use even the small amount of energy it would have taken to do it. The mindset was just not there.

Well luckily I have 2 very good friends who are great listeners and motivate me when times are tough and when times are good. We all need friends like these and I am grateful every single day I have these great people in my life. They are the start but ultimately it is me that has to shake the moods, get myself into right frame of mind. After all they cannot run that run for me, they cannot be with me 24/7 to stop me shovelling that bad food down my neck.

So last night, admittedly while having a little drink and chatting with my friends I decided that today I would devise a list of things to do, things that I want to accomplish on this day. I have already meditated which is my start to every day and the second was to write this blog post before starting a few errands and preparing myself for the new year. But...

In between that I jumped on to Facebook, not intentionally looking to be productive on there but stumbled across a Vlog of a local Personal trainer I follow Matt Bartram

Low and behold his vlog was kind of discussing how I was feeling over this last month, well worth 9 minutes of you life see below....

https://www.facebook.com/100004894397840/videos/1178572655649203/UzpfSTEwMDAwNDg5NDM5Nzg0MDoxMTgwMjYzMzM1NDgwMTM1/?id=100004894397840

Thanks for that Matt, very inspiring and interesting way to look at it. If anyone wants to know more about what Matt does you can find him on the links below:

Matts Facebook

Personal Training Site

Warrior Boot Camps

My summary

So the combination of good friends, stumbling on a random vlog, mixed with a bit of meditation and me making a list of small goals has pulled me back.

So what if I have a finger injury and I cannot go kickboxing like I really want to. Heh I can go for a bike ride or a run or a leg session at the gym.

So what if I have eaten and drank way too much over Christmas, Heh I can start eating healthy again today and go back to normal.

Ultimately this is down to me and my self motivation, with that being said it's time to run those errands I need to do and heh why not jump on the pushbike instead of the car :)

Have a great day whatever you are doing and a Very Happy New Year to you all

Peace

Kelvin

 

 


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://pathtosomewhere.com/2018/12/31/5-months-of-challenges-to-a-challenging-month/

Sort:  

Thank you so much for sharing this amazing post with us!

Have you heard about Partiko? It’s a really convenient mobile app for Steem! With Partiko, you can easily see what’s going on in the Steem community, make posts and comments (no beneficiary cut forever!), and always stayed connected with your followers via push notification!

Partiko also rewards you with Partiko Points (3000 Partiko Point bonus when you first use it!), and Partiko Points can be converted into Steem tokens. You can earn Partiko Points easily by making posts and comments using Partiko.

We also noticed that your Steem Power is low. We will be very happy to delegate 15 Steem Power to you once you have made a post using Partiko! With more Steem Power, you can make more posts and comments, and earn more rewards!

If that all sounds interesting, you can:

Thank you so much for reading this message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60111.17
ETH 2322.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53