500 Days Of Meditation

in #steempress5 years ago


November 5th - Bonfire night, all is quiet.

Days of fireworks leading up to today and from inside my house all I can hear is the occasional car passing by. I have just returned from the gym, a pass time I have sorely missed through injury and lack of enthusiasm over the last several months. Whilst I was there working on my legs, sitting on the recumbent bike a question popped into my head.

" I wander how many days I have been meditating for now?"


So on my return I decided to check the calendar I had not filled in for several weeks.

Bang ! pop! whizzz!

The fireworks have started now, there goes the peace, but hopefully not my flow....

As I was saying....

The calendar I had not filled in for several weeks. Bad lad. I started to write the days in from where I had last left off and as I was going through I realised I was edging closer to a new milestone. The big 500 days, that's right on November the 1st I had reached this personal achievement without even realising.

How could this happen? How did I miss this goal?

Well, meditation as you know if you follow me has become a part of who I am, it has slotted into my life, becoming second nature and just part of my daily routine like brushing your teeth or eating. It just happens without even thinking about it, I wake, I meditate..... I get up and then my day starts on a positive note.

What has meditation done for me?

Not only has it made me a calmer person, I find I get let stressed, I see things from different angles, I cope with life and the things that are thrown at me better than I ever did before meditation.

Whereas I used to suffer with anxiety or depression every 2-3 weeks, now the depression is none existent "touch wood" and I have had 1 anxiety attack since my meditation medley began. Truly amazing is how I can only describe it.

It has given me more focus, helped with sleep issues the majority of the time and has vastly improved my way of life... And all from a 10 minute a day life change!!

I set my alarm 15 minutes earlier than I would normally wake, sit up (or sometimes keep lying down when I am feeling particularly sleepy) reach for my phone, plug the headphones in and use an app called Insight Timer which on last look had well over 30,000 free meditations.

All I can say is why not give it go?? It has changed my life massively for the good and if I can give that to just one person who reads this then it was worth me sitting here in my stinky gym clothes writing this post :)

Peace....

Kelvin



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://pathtosomewhere.com/2019/11/05/500-days-of-meditation/
Sort:  

Congratulations @kelvinwood! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 20 posts. Your next target is to reach 30 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest⁴ - Meet the Steemians Contest
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60309.00
ETH 2342.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55