IELTS SPEAKING TOPIC PART 1 - TRAVEL & HOLIDAY

in #steempress5 years ago (edited)

 

IELTS Speaking Part 1 about Travel is more than common, however, there are still a lot of examinees who feel nervous and worse get tongue-tied whenever they get questions about it. Well, there are many factors why they do experience that and one of them is not having enough vocabulary knowledge to express their thoughts.

 

Well, this blog about Travel and Holiday is made to give you ideas on what you can possibly talk whenever you are asked questions about travel. Feel free to use this material!

 

PART 1

 

What kinds of places do you like to visit on a holiday?

 

Well, as I’m a nature lover person, I enjoy visiting mountains and do hiking with my friends. Also, I often go to hot springs to detoxify myself every now and then except summertime, since I do love spending my summer at the beach.

 

Vocabulary & Expression:

Detoxify [verb] - to remove toxins from the body

Every now and then [phrase] - from time to time; occasionally

 

Tip: The speaker talks about his character which is “nature lover” before giving his answer. This a good way to develop an interesting answer and to talk that in length.

 

Who would you like to go on holiday with?

 

Without a doubt, my family - my wife and my two lovely sons! They’re the biggest part of my life that there’s no instance that I would not miss them all. Whenever I have that burning desire to travel, my family should always with me, I do want to make valuable and happy memories with all of them.

 

Vocabulary & Expression:

Without a doubt [phrase] - indisputably; no hesitation; something is true

Burning desire [expression] - if you have burning desire you are eager or more interested in doing something

 

Where do you plan to go for your next holiday?

 

Recently, I’m considering Norway, as I really want to witness that spectacular Northern Lights. That’s actually on our bucket list, and I wouldn’t mind if it costs me an arm and a leg since it’s been a dream for me and my wife.

 

Vocabulary & Expression:

Spectacular [adj.] - amazing; captivating

Bucket list [noun] - a number of achievements or experiences that a person hopes to achieve during their lifetime

Cost an arm and a leg [idiom] - very expensive

 

Which do you prefer local trip or international trip?

 

Honestly, I dunno how to answer that as I enjoy both of them. Maybe, if time is one of our bases or issues here, I would go for a local trip when I don’t have the luxury of time, let’s say I only have a week or less than a week, however, if it’s more than that, I would surely go abroad without a second thought.

 

Vocabulary & Expression:

Bases [noun] [plural of basis] - consideration

Luxury of time [expression] - to have so much time

Without a second thought [phrase] - without thinking about it

 

Note: The speaker is being so honest of his direct reply when he hears the question and this sounds really natural which is very good in IELTS Speaking part 1. Examinees should make sure that they are natural in expressing their thoughts. They have to avoid sounding mechanical.

 

Do you have any questions or comments? Please leave them below. Check our previous post about MAGAZINE with this link https://www.ieltsdragon.com/ielts-speaking-topic-parts-2-3-magazine/topic-of-the-day-answers/

 

Best of luck to your exam! Be Natural! Breathe Confidence!


DON’T FORGET TO SHARE!

Did you find this helpful? Help ieltsDragon continue. Even a dollar can be a huge help. Click the button below.

[wpedon id="68" align="center"]




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://www.ieltsdragon.com/ielts-speaking-topic-part-1-travel-holiday/topic-of-the-day-answers/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95