IELTS SPEAKING PART 1 WATCHES

in #steempress6 years ago

 

IELTS Speaking Part 1 Watches, this topic has recently appeared in IELTS Speaking Test. Learn how to talk about watches in a more knowledgeable way. Understand the different types of watches to be able to develop intelligent answers and to achieve spontaneity in talking about that topic.

 

PART 1

 

 

Do you wear a watch?

 

Not at all, I really don’t need to wear one as I have my mobile phone to check the time every now and then. For me, watches nowadays are already outdated since people are too dependent in using their smartphones in terms of checking the time since it’s more convenient or handy.

 

Vocabulary and Expression:

 

Every now and then [phrase] - from time to time

Outdated [adj.]- out of date; obsolete

In terms of [phrase] - with regard to; regarding; concerning to

Handy [adj.] - convenient to handle; easy to use

 

Tip 1: Instead of answering, ‘No I don’t’, ‘Not at all’ is a good alternative expression to use most especially if you never wear one.

 

Tip 2: In the second sentence, the speaker states his thought as to why he doesn’t wear any watch. Always make sure that your sentences are all interconnected (like in that sample answer) to achieve coherence.

 

What kinds of watches do you like to wear?

 

Well as I’ve just said, I don’t wear any watches nowadays, however, back when watches were still a necessity for mankind and smartphones were not yet invented, I used to wear automatic watches, I was really into that type since I didn’t need to bother myself changing its batteries. As you know automatic watches, especially top quality ones continue to run without batteries or external power.

 

Vocabulary & Expression:

 

Back when [phrase] - another way to say ‘in the past’

Necessity [noun] - an indispensable thing; an important thing

Mankind [noun] - human beings

Automatic watch [noun] - also called self-winding watch; the natural motion of the wearer provides energy to run the watch

External power [noun] - refers to batteries or charger

 

Tip 1: If you want to reiterate what you’ve previously said, use the expressions: ‘As /Like I’ve said/mentioned’. These expressions really come in handy whenever the questions are repetitive or similar that need ‘same answer’ as you’ve previously stated.

 

Tip 2: The question asks ‘what type’, so you have to mention a kind of watch like what the speaker does. He said ‘automatic watch’, this is really the answer to the question ‘what type’.

 

Tip 3: In order for the speaker to showcase his language skills, he gives the basic definition of what an automatic watch is. This is a very good way to make his answer more descriptive.

 

 

What was your first watch like?

 

If my memory serves me right, my first ever watch was an analog watch and it was made of plastic. I got it as a present when I turned 5. There was Elmo’s face from the children’s show, Sesame Street, on the dial or the face of that watch. Besides the color of the strap was red, obviously because Elmo’s color is red.

 

Vocabulary & Expression:

 

If my memory serves me right [expression] - used to say that you think you have remembered something correctly

Can also be: if my memory serves me well/correctly

Analog watch [noun] - a type of watch in which the display is not digital but rather analog with a traditional clock face

The dial/the face [noun] - a part of an analog watch or clock that displays the time

Strap or watch strap [noun] - a watch bracelet that straps the wristwatch onto the wrist, usually made of leather or plastic

 

Grammar:

Made of vs made from

 

We use ‘made of’ when an object consists of a material that has not changed in any way, while ‘made from’ when the material of an object has significantly changed in the process of making the object.

 

Examples:

The table is made of wood.

The cake is made from flour, eggs, milk, butter, and sugar.

 

Tip 1: When you are asked something that has happened a long time ago, use the expression ‘if my memory serves me right’ when you start your answer. A very good way to get a good mark in the criterion, Lexical Resource/Vocabulary.

 

Tip 2: The question is asking about the first watch you had, so give the type of watch like ‘analog’ or ‘digital’. Then add details of it, like the way the speaker describes his watch in the sample answer.

 

Do people in your country still wear watches?

 

I’m not entirely sure on this, I reckon, some people here in my country are still fanatic to watches most especially the old generation since they are accustomed to checking the time through watches. However, for some people like the young, I rarely see them wearing one, that I believe because of the popularity of smartphones.

 

Vocabulary & Expression:

 

I reckon [expression] - another way to say ‘I think’; this is used to express uncertainty

Fanatic [adj.] [noun] - having so much interest in something; a person who is interested in something

Accustomed [adj.] - familiar with something; get used to

 

Tip 1: When you are not sure how to answer the question, you can be honest and use the expressions ‘I’m not entirely sure’, ‘I reckon’, ‘I guess’...you don’t need to be accurate oftentimes in IELTS Speaking exam. The most important thing that you need to remember is being able to express your thoughts with the correct use of the English language.

 

Tip 2: When you are not sure or when you answer ‘It depends on …’ always explain two certain things to show comparison. Like in the sample answer, the speaker talks about the old and the young generation about their attitudes towards wearing watches, and that makes his answer clearer and better.

 

And that's it! Talking about watches is really interesting, isn't it? I bet you can ace your exam! Anyway, learn how to answer the RECENT TOPIC in PART 1 ABOUT FILMS on this link https://www.ieltsdragon.com/ielts-speaking-topic-part-1-film/ielts-recent-topic-with-answers/

 

Do you have any questions or comments? Leave them below.

 

Best of luck to your exam! Be Natural! Breathe Confidence!


DON’T FORGET TO SHARE!

Did you find this helpful? Help ieltsDragon continue. Even a dollar can be a huge help. Click the button below.

[wpedon id="68" align="center"]




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://www.ieltsdragon.com/ielts-speaking-part-1-watches/part-1/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59126.81
ETH 2514.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46