You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Some Reflections about Loneliness and Bad Companies

in #steempress5 years ago

Thanks for a valuable post. Your insights on the nature of the mind will be of benefit to those who are not able to cope with the harsh circumstances of life sometimes. It is a curious and ironic reality in which we have so many people around us most of the time in cities, and yet we find ourselves alone or worse, lonely. Our civilization has educated us in the west especially, to be private and not to reach out to our local neighbours as much as in the past.

Sort:  

Thanks for your comment, @julianhorack
You bring up one important paradox of this world of ours. There is a tendency to inculcate and promore individualism (which ends up being selfishness), while at the same time there is this pressure to be part of everything. I personally can't handle social networks. i have a facebook account I rarely use and a twiter account I use even more sparsely, mostly to post some of my steemit post. I see most people around me have 4 to 10 different accounts on different social media and everytime there is a ne app or something they have to have that one too.
I just don't see the point.
There is an old saying in my culture, which I think is true now mroe than ever: El que mucho abarca poco aprieta (literally, he who reaches for much grabs but little; a possible equivalent being "jack of all trades, master of none").

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63365.67
ETH 3398.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44