Papaya: my favorite fruit 😍

in #steempress6 years ago (edited)


   Hello steemians, some time ago I made a post in Spanish where I talked about my favorite fruit, this time I want to share something more about this plant and its health benefits.


From Franz Eugen Köhler, Köhler's Medizinal-Pflanzen - List of Koehler Images, Public domain, Source

My favorite plant is Cariaca papaya, in my country Venezuela they know it as "lechosa", it is one of my favorite fruits, it is very rich and its flavor is very soft. I love to eat it mature and not prepared as they usually do.



Source

In addition to its flavor and versatility, what I like the most about papaya are its health benefits:

  • High content of an enzyme that helps digest proteins called papain, said enzyme is found in higher concentration in the skin, it should be noted that papain has industrial use.

  • Contains a good amount of "lycopene" that according to this study is considered a protective factor against prostate and breast cancer.

  • It has a high amount of different vitamins, which we can highlight the A, C, B1, B2, B3, etc.

  • It seems also has anti-inflammatory properties, helps circulation and has action against some intestinal parasites type worms (helminths).

separador.png

Because I like it a lot I decided to plant it, well it is also because the area where I live offers the perfect conditions for this plant.

This plant requires heat, does not withstand extreme cold, it is recommended that this area of more than 20Cº on average, can withstand somewhat lower temperatures but the fruits would not be optimal.

Another point related to heat, is sunlight, needs good light, this plant likes the sun a lot and without the good presence of it would not grow properly.


Photo of my authorship

Irrigation will depend on rainfall and the environmental temperature, since higher temperatures and lower rainfall require greater irrigation.

Regarding the soil it should not be clayey or heavy, as this could rot the roots.


Photo of my authorship, to the sweet wait of my papayas...

amidactar.jpg


Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Joseangelvs from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63407.49
ETH 2645.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81