You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: On Mandela Day: things that shaped this South African

in #steempress6 years ago

Long Walk to Freedom comes to mind, reading this brings back many bitter/sweet memories.

Brought up in a family on the Westrand I can relate to what you say, respect for everyone, sharing what little you may have had to people worse off.

I cannot recall people talking about what was happening growing up, it was only once you grew up you the harsh reality was realized.

One day I may put pen to paper and go through some of my vivid memories, the time is long overdue for people to respect and work together @fionasfavourites

Sort:  

Indeed it is, @joanstewart. I highly recommend reading Bridget's book. I hesitate recommending Olivia's other than to say it does give insight into how the machinery worked, and that from an insider. Incidentally she mentions in her book, the person who recruited me to join the SRC. It was only years later when I reflected on things that I realise how fortunate I was not to have been approached to be a spy. I know at least two others who were, and both are mentioned, if I remember correctly, in both books. They, too, I have come across in adult life and have had very sad lives as a consequence of their choices. Bell's book, I'm not sure. I've not found an objective review of it. It was self-published and self-promoted. Some, I know, are drawing their own conclusions from that. It is available on Amazon, though.

They were scary times, police following you around. Too scared to speak out as often as one should, fear of negative repercussion against families.

I will look to read the book you suggest, my Mom's family arrived with the 1820 settlers, my Dad's arrived in the Boer War, I am African (I am not a European living in Africa).

Our history needs to be debated at every level/angle in South African society, never to repeat what has happened.

So interesting, Joan - what was your mom's family name? My husband's uncle, a Scot, refused to carry a gun in the Boer War in Natal; he married a South African woman and they went back to Scotland. It caused havoc because they didn't have a marriage or birth certificate when, donkeys years later, they wanted to travel to Germany. Funny old world. Yes, our history needs serious and empathic interrogation. There is still too much unnecessary fear and loathing. Sad.

Notes I have from my Mom are Alfred Milton was family _(I found documents where the people entered South Africa via ships on British Ancestry sites, no idea how family is connected). Mary Ann Streak born in Grahamstown in 1864 was a direct relative since my Mom followed birth dates through the family, by what I understood Scottish descent. My Gran Harriot Jane Streak born Beaconsfield 1903, married into the Botha family, my Grandfather by what I understood was a cousin to Gen. Louis Botha I have no reliable evidence to substantiate this. (Irony would be Louis Botha played a massive part in Second Boer War History as well).

Documentation is very difficult to find here in South Africa, my Gran's old bible where everything was documented, I have no idea who in the family inherited it. My Mom's side of the family was to say the least, scattered and large, many members if I bumped into them, I would not know who they are.

My fathers Dad came out to fight for the British in the Second Boer War, married a widow (Dickens) whose maiden name was Afrikaans (Oosthuizen), much like your family he returned to England, where my Aunt was born in 1905, returned to South Africa and had three more sons, my father being the youngest born in 1911.

The most ridiculous twist in the tale, if Afred Milton mentioned in my Mom's notes, is the Sir Alfred Milton (refer link) when Second Boer War entered the scene, he was a deciding factor in this war being waged.... Sad how much blood spilled on the land and this is just touching the tip of an iceberg when looking at our history. Do people ever learn?

Link about Second Boer War: http://www.sahistory.org.za/article/second-anglo-boer-war-1899-1902
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Louis_Botha

Louis Botha
Louis Botha (Afrikaans pronunciation: [ˈlu.i ˈbʊəta]; 27 September 1862 – 27 August 1919) was a South African politician who was the first Prime Minister of the Union of South Africa—the forerunner of the modern South African state. A Boer war hero during the Second Boer War, he would eventually fight to have South Africa become a British Dominion.

Very interesting. Fascinating. I grew up, as you now have gathered, in Grahamstown. You may already be a member of the Factobook group https://www.facebook.com/groups/6032919471/?ref=br_rs that has done quite a bit of work on this. There are also groups for descendents and I know that they are organising a bicentennial celebration for 2020. It really is interesting how things happen. A friend of mine, of Portugese descent and whose uncle was private sectretary to Paul Kruger, was responsible for both keeping prisoner, and helping him to escape - Winston Churchill. They became friends because Louis de Souza and he developed a friendship because they conversed in English. I have seen the letter Churchill wrote to him apologising for having scarpered without saying good bye!

Our history is so important, I started in 2008 with Ancestry.co.za (site was removed 3 years later after loading up lots of information). Starting with my Dad's side of the family which I thought would be easier to track, not in South Africa if you looking for details, visit cemeteries personally if you know where the person was buried.

After that I collated as much as I could, scanned documents and sent them to family members who were interested in holding onto our family history.

Amazingly family members came out the woodwork from all corners of the world when my Aunt (Dad's sister) turned 100, she was awarded her ' Madiba' certificate and letter which bowled her over with joy, queenie over the water where she was born felt it not necessary since she lived over here. My Aunt was feisty even at her grand old age said "the very special man of her life sent her a greeting of a lifetime, to be treasured" my niece looks after most of our documents which makes me happy, one day perhaps things will improve in tracking families.

Keep documenting and sharing, have a wonderful evening Fiona. Makes me think of the San people who tell stories about family and animals around a fire, may not have been written as we feel proper and correct, they fondly remember and learn.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61113.33
ETH 2927.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69