Not Good Sides of Being a Freelancer

in #steempress5 years ago (edited)

Not Good Sides of Being a Freelancer

Of course, if there are good sides of being a freelancer, which I talked about in my previous blog post, there are not good sides as well.

I don't want to be biased since I'm a freelancer now and say good things about freelancing just to attract and entice you. As a matter of fact, there are still challenges in doing freelance jobs. However, the pros still exceed the cons.

Anyway, I don't want to prolong this and I will enumerate them now. By the way, this list came from CJ Cajoles, which she discussed in her talk at Side Gig Conference 2019. I also added my opinion in every item below. I hope you'll like it.

6 Disadvantages of Being a Freelancer

1 - Work is also irregular
(In my case, yes it is. Especially when you're just started. You have to build your portfolio first and find a legit and paying client)

2 - Might take a while to build a portfolio
(Just like what I mentioned in #1, you have to build your portfolio so you have something to show to your eyeing clients. If you're a writer or blogger and you want to venture into writing content, then you have to build at least your presence online. A blog like this, which contains your blog entries and articles will do. Another thing is to write in Content Mills websites [which I learned from Maggie Linders])

3 - Tendency to be overworked
(This is true since the amount of money that you will make depends on the effort you put in. Regardless if you're getting paid for project/task completion or per hourly basis, you have the tendency of working more. But still your time is limited and your income has a ceiling. Your health should be your priority and it is non-negotiable)

4 - Too much distraction of social media
(Being a freelancer or online worker has lots of enemies around. If you don't have discipline, you can be easily lured by other websites and get distracted because you have no boss who would check on you every now and then. Social media sites are just a click away)

5 - Hard to focus because of too many distractions
(The same as #4, but this one has something to do with distractions at home. People around you think that you're just playing around when they find out that you're just at home. The thing is they do not know that you can still earn money even if you're not in the traditional office. Try to inform them ahead of time and make them understand that you are working at the same time earning money inside the same roof)

6 - No more social life
(This is what I observe. Since you are working alone most of the time and the people you work with are on the other side of the world, chances are you have no more social life. I heard a joke before [jokes are half meant] that freelancing is not good when you're single and near the late twenties. I don't mind it as long as I never experience the heavy traffic, bad weather and a lot more again when commuting to and from work, I will never trade-off the freelancing benefits and advantages)

That's it. Above items are some of the disadvantages, challenges or cons of working from home or being a freelancer. I know there are still more out there, which are not included in this list. So I highly encourage you to leave your comment down below and let's have a healthy discussion.

Thank you for your time. If you enjoy this entry and you want me to write continuously, a simple coffee will boost me to have energy. =D



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://www.jethrosas.com/2019/08/not-good-sides-of-being-a-freelancer.html
Sort:  

Natawa ako dito

freelancing is not good when you're single and near the late twenties

Right now, I think I can still juggle both my day-job and my side hustles online. But I am planning to shift fully in the freelancing world din if I find some long-term clients.

One thing I noticed din based sa mga posts ng freelancers in an fb group is there's a great tendency to be depressed since you are working alone nga.

Pag di ka naman single, wala kang dapat ikabahala, Sheila. Hahaha!

Anyway, balitaan mo ko pag freelancer ka na rin ha. :)

Hello there! Are you aware of different tribes on Steemit? Go open steem-engine where you can trade tokens from those tribes using steemconnect. All you have to do is in every post you make on Steemit, just use the tags of those tribes, and your posts on Steemit will post there too. Hence, you can earn from Steemit and in those tribes. Those tribes are websites too which looks exactly like Steemit. Examples of them are palnet, marlians, neoxian, sportstalk, steemzzang, etc.

Posted using Partiko Android

This is the first time I heard about it. Maybe, if there's a post that could guide me, much better. Thanks for letting me know about this thing, Sir. More power to us!

Congratulations @jethsas! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58470.94
ETH 2653.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43