So, Now What?

in #steempress5 years ago

In my many years online working within traffic exchanges, I have seen hundreds come and go (my own included). It seems to be the trend of the industry (or any industry for that matter). Businesses start up and for various reasons, fail. With the recent Paypal debacle that wiped out half of our industry, we've been forced to examine the gaping holes within our business plans. I am no exception to that reality.

Two years ago, I set out on an adventure that I had always wanted to do and that was to own my own traffic exchange. I teamed up with two partners and together, we came up with a plan. We had so many ideas for that website, I couldn't even begin to write them all in this post. Some of them were doable, others were probably pipe dreams.

The odds were against us in an industry that comes and goes and we faced more challenges than I can mention here, both personally and professionally that really shook us. From deaths in the family, to a business partner that fell off the face of the earth (has anyone heard from him yet?), to a pregnancy loss of my own, to Paypal deciding they didn't like us. Some of those we could have prevented, others were way out of our control. This is not me looking for pity. My point is, while our ideas were great, we failed miserably at planning ahead long term.

So here I sit and if I am being honest, slightly lost on what direction to turn to as far as where I want to take my business and my brand. I spent the last 5 years give or take relying on others, to an extent and not needing to make decisions on my own. Now I do.

I definitely need a long term plan this time.

There is no question that this industry is changing. For awhile it seemed like it might be finished. It's important to remember that change is good. It's challenging but it keeps us on our toes. I've learned a tough lesson. I never thought I'd be in a situation where I would let an entire membership base down and that's exactly what happened when we lost Major League Advertising. For that, I apologize. All I can do from here is keep pushing forward, growing and not make the same mistake twice.

What's most important to me is my reputation with the people that have put enough faith in my join my list or sign up at this blog. It's important to me that my readers, you guys, feel that you can trust me and my recommendations and the fact that I won't take you somewhere or lead you in a direction just to make a quick buck. So I do know that my number one goal within this plan (that I am still trying to figure out) is to continue to build and in some cases, rebuild, that relationship with you.

It's humbling and I am honoured that so many of you have stuck around and continue to support me. So thank you!



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://www.janellepineau.net/so-now-what/
Sort:  

Wow! Look at you! I am just incredibly happy that you are here on Steem! Looks to me like Steempress works well, makes me think about resurrecting my blog.

I'm just a happy man right now. Thanks Janelle!

Thank you so much for showing me that plugin! LOL

I hear rumours you arrived here via @bigtom13 ;-) Good luck with building your platform, both on Wordpress and on Steem! On Steem you can have a pretty interesting journey if you're willing to invest and be consistent within the community - however you're going to use this platform, I hope it will be something that works for you. Cheers!

Thank you so much. I really appreciate the support!

she’s alive!!!!! and like Tom said....Very happy to see you on STEEM.

Posted using Partiko iOS

haha I'm alive. Forgot how insanely exhausting it is doing the mom thing with a newborn, so I'm distracted, but Tom showed me a really cool plugin that integrated Steem through my Wordpress so that makes my life easier. I'm learning all this stuff slowly....it's still very foreign to me!

yup. steempress is killer. been using it for almost a year now. take your time and as always drop me a line if you need anything.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @jangle! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

@jangle, thank you for supporting @steemitboard as a witness.

Here is a small present to show our gratitude
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Once again, thanks for your support!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 58216.02
ETH 2614.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45