Fitness Christmas Gift Ideas for Every Body

in #steempress4 years ago



Posted from my blog with SteempressSteemPress : https://howmanymiles.co.uk/fitness-christmas-gift-ideas-for-every-body/

With Christmas edging closer and closer, I know some of you might still be looking for gifts (I know that I am) so, dear reader, here are some brilliant gift ideas that will help you and your loved ones stay active, healthy and happy throughout 2020 whatever your budget and whatever your current level of fitness.


For Runners

Garmin Vivoactive 4

I am a Garmin Geek who owns a fabulous Forerunner 735xt and who lusts after a Fenix 6 Pro. However, based on features and value for money, I would highly recommend the Garmin Vivoactive 4 (or even the Vivoactive 3 if you don’t especially need music playback). With Spotify  and a sleeker and slimmer look with the “S” model, it compares favourably with any smartwatch on the market. While it may not possess the running analytics that hard core runners might look for, this gps and heart rate monitoring smartwatch is ideal for the pool and the gym and even has some funky on screen animations to guide you as you exercise.

£239.00

New Balance FreshFoam 1080 v10

You don’t need expensive running shoes to run and every person will have their own preferences, but over the years I have come to love the New Balance 1060 running shoes to the extent that I currently own four pairs. Ample space for those with high arches, the 1080s provide a great balance in comfort, support and performance. While I own the v9’s the 2019 v10’s models, seemingly deliver a much improved fit with a smooth feel and superb transition. I normally recommend buying the previous year’s model (this applies to all running shoes) as improvements rarely justify the extra cost, but I do reckon that these will be my next purchase as I make my return to running.

£135.00

parkrun

One of my New Year resolutions is to make use of my local weekly parkrun event, as a runner and a volunteer, but do you know that these free, friendly and fun 5k events are for everyone including walkers with tail walkers ensuring that nobody is ever left behind.

Regularly attending parkrun is a great way to develop your running ability and to keep fit while you will be hard pushed to find a friendlier or more supportive group of people.

FREE

For Cyclists

Decathlon Bike*

You can’t look a gift horse in the mouth, so when Decathlon offered to support my triathlon training (Bishopbriggs Sprint Triathlon entered while writing this blog) with a new bike, I did not complain or refuse. As a member of the Decathlon Bloggers Community I love their ethos of sport for the many and have been impressed with the quality of their kit. That being said, I was surprised at just how good my Rockrider 560 was. Light, strong and built with components that belies its superb price tag, this is a bike that is ideal for those new to mountain biking, commuters like me who love detouring along trails and even those participating in events.  Buy it in red to make you go faster. 

£449.99

Aftershokz Trek Air headphones. 

Santa came early this year and has been very good to me with a pair of waterproof (I do live in Glasgow) Aftershokz Aeropex my Christmas gift from my mum. However, having owned a pair of Aftershokz Trekz Titanium in the past (hope the person who found them in Edinburgh Airport is still enjoying them) my advice would be to buy a pair of the Aftershokz Trekz Air at almost half the price. Slightly heavier, their 6 hour battery length is sufficient for most rides and also on runs where you want to be able to listen to music, podcasts, directions and still be present in any environment (not sure if my boss will allow me to wear them at work).  Using bone conduction technology, the quality of sound is very good even if the bass can be a little weak while they look sleek and fit well even for spectacle and hat wearers

£69.95

Timber Bell

Like the Aftershokz, my preference for these revolves around feeling safe on my  bike. As I commute through the city centre and several parks (I often extend my homeward journey from work) I have become aware that pedestrians can be as big a danger as motorists as they cross cycle lanes, roads and walk dogs along woodland trails. Rather than a sharp and often too late shrill ring of a traditional bell, the Timber Bell can be switched on to gently vibrate as you cycle. This gentle ding ding can be heard by approaching walkers who instinctively step out of the way while I have read that its a preferred and less aggressive way of signaling your arrival to horses. They also look really cool (I am reminded of Swiss cowbells).

£26.98

For Swimmers

Dry Robe*

More for open water swimmers and triathletes, the Dry Robe has become a wonderful addition to my swimming kit. Water and windproof, it allows you to change in almost any elements (less exposure in more ways than one) and keeps you warm after a cold loch swim. With winter now open us, I have also found my girlfriend snuggled up in my Dry Robe and reading a book

£120.00

Aquasphere Kayenne Goggles

Whether I am swimming in a pool or in a loch, I prefer to wear goggles. And my favourites are Aqua Sphere Kayenne goggles. With a curved and oversized lens they provide me with an increased field of vision (which is needed as I rarely swim straight) while the the anti-fogging further improves visibility. With quick release buckles and a quick and lasting seal, these goggles are a great fit.

£14.99

Swimathon entry

While I am not an ambassador this year, I will be taking part and I would urge anyone who swims to consider signing up for one challenges With distances



Posted from my blog with SteempressSteemPress : https://howmanymiles.co.uk/fitness-christmas-gift-ideas-for-every-body/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62184.89
ETH 2995.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97