You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Does Britain have a 'class ceiling'?

in #steempress6 years ago

But I feel a lot of that is due to richer people sending their kids to better schools etc and giving them more opportunities. This may sound unfair but I think it’s natural to want what’s best for your children regardless of any wider political beliefs. And I don’t see how you level the playing field! I still believe that others may have better opportunities but if you work hard you will succeed regardless of where you start from. Maybe I’m being nieve!

Sort:  

No not nieve, but by what you say you're basically agreeing with me! Hard work means you'll achieve more whatever your background, but at the end of the day, effort being equal, having had a private education is going to give you an advantage.

Lottery systems/ quotas are two ways of levelling the playing field. or there's always the apprentice - I've noticed Alan Sugar seems to have something of a soft spot for the working class candidates!

Well he does like to remind people he started out as a barrow boy! Got to admire what he built from nothing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60732.86
ETH 2906.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57