You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fusion Flat Breads

in #steempress5 years ago

I hated cole slaw, and like you, most of my hatred of it came from my elementary school cafeteria. Today, I will eat cole slaw with only one meal - if I decide to eat at a barbecue restaurant.

My mom made 2 dishes with cabbage. One was halupki (sp?) or cabbage rolls as they're sometimes called, and another dish that had cabbage and noodles, but I can't remember the name of the dish.

You're very creative with foods!

Sort:  

Seems I am not alone in this! Your mom's dishes sound interesting. I am sure that those cabbage rolls are traditional in east European cooking? I know that Asian cooking often includes cabbage, but not cooked to death.

Yes, you're correct. My dad's side of the family came from Ukraine and my dad was born in NYC. My mother's side of the family is Irish. My mom cooked the stuff my dad liked, which was eastern European. Cabbage rolls have the same filling as stuffed peppers, with ground beef, rice, onion and maybe a couple other ingredients.

You carefully get the cabbage leaves off whole, blanch them in boiling water for a minute or so, (just so you can manipulate the leaves without breaking them), and you add filling, pull over the ends and roll the filling up in the leaf.

When you have them all in a roasting pan, add some tomato sauce onto and around the cabbage rolls and then bake. Not sure of the temp or cooking time, but probably 325 -350.

Ah! our Ukranian guest about whom I wrote a few weeks ago, told me about that dish. She was away from her family on Ukraine's national day and had prepared it before she left. So interesting how our heritage influences our likes and dislikes. My mother, too, cooked what my father liked. He was Scottish and she, English.

I think I must try to make cabbage rolls - not a lot of cabbage there - and really nice flavours.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63852.87
ETH 3135.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83