My first dedicated graphic card -- GTX 1080!

in #steempress6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180609_172652.jpg

My desktop rig is finally comes to its perfection after acquiring the final puzzle piece, the GPU -- EVGA GTX 1080 Superclocked.

The rig was build one year ago aim to be a powerful performance work and play station for productive and entertainment purpose. Due to the spiked demand for GPU fpr mining, the price was jacked up so high that a value-based consumer like myself could not afford to accept.

Although the mining frenzy is much chilled than before and the price of GPU seems to drop back to normal level. It is still not really a good timing to get one considering the GTX 10 Series is almost a 2-year old product. I bought it for two reasons:

  • Despite for the productive/gaming usage, I could use it to mine some new coins during idle time which the timing could be crucial. The earlier you start mining the mlre coins you can get for those new POW coins with ultra low difficulty.
  • I have growing needs for a powerful GPU.

Here is some of the unboxing process for my new and expensive toy:

IMG_20180609_151855.jpg

The cards qas book via Amazon Prime Now in SG. This is my first order and they really able to ship within 2 hours and this alone would outperform all the competitors here in SG as they normally take days to deliver. The price was 755 SGD which is much lower than current market price.

IMG_20180609_152619.jpg

Wow, finally get to hold my own dedicated GPU after all these year as a PC lover. It was unrealistic and unaffordable for me for a long while til this moment.

IMG_20180609_153455.jpg

I was expecting a very bulky packahing but it seems like the manufacturers has slimed down a lot on the packing while not sacrificing the protection quality. This simple plastic case is sufficient in handling mild violent situation.

IMG_20180609_172652.jpg

A handsome and solid card. This is a GTX 1080 chip with two open structure fans and ball bearing which is an important mechanism in ensuring a long life operation. The mechanical design looks so sexy with all the detail parts.

IMG_20180609_154040.jpg

The view of backplate. Not every GPU comes with one but the EVGA 1080 SC is here with a sexy one. The cold and solid feeling of the aluminum backplate feel liks almost a guarantee of great cooling ability to me.

IMG_20180609_175144.jpg

Plug it in on the motherboard, the design blend in quite well with my low profile and non-flashy rig. No RGB and fancy lighting, just consistent extra juice from this lovely eanormous card whihc took up 2 PCIE slot and 12-pin power connector.


Absolutely feeling lovey knowing I have a rig able to handle whatever whatever task I throw at it. Video editing, mining, gaming, and more to explore! What do you think about this GPU?


忍了一年,终于在上个礼拜忍不住出手买了独立显卡,也就是 EVGA GTX 1080 Superclocked。会在这个实在不算好的时机入手,除了对显卡的需求越来越高,另一个原因就是可以在空闲时候挖一挖矿。所挖的矿都是最新的币,所以越早挖成本越低,以后爆发的话收益越高。还有另外一个原因就是日益稳定的价格,这张卡花了 755 新币,比市场价低廉很多了。

作为电脑爱好者二十多年,这次终于第一次拥有了自己的独立显卡,还要是顶端的 GTX 10 系列,实在是有点激动不已。以后什么吃鸡挖矿剪辑4K视频,统统放马过来!





Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://fr3eze.vornix.blog/my-first-dedicated-graphic-card-gtx-1080/
Sort:  

Wow! Canggih! Congrats man. Happy gaming... CS:GO :D

Haha only gamers can know what feel a GPU like this can offers

What took you so long? You should always use a dedicated GPU. Lol.. EVGA is good stuff. I have a GTX 760 from them and it is still functioning well now

That was the bloody overpriced trend...I was using my rig on a very low end card just for display purpose haha. Ya heard good things about EVGA. Any plan to upgrade GPU for you recently?

Yea. I was thinking of getting the GTX 1060 since last year. But there is no reason for me to change when my current card is still working. Unless I plan to do some crypto mining wirh GPU, then maybe I should change. Haha..

1060 is a powerful card with budget also. Haha, of you upgraded you will always find ways to utilise the extra juice, mining is a great way too.

Yea... I think the 1060 is probably the best value card out there. I will probably consider doing some mining. Haha..

Yeah you should man, mining is so much fun and that would be a great way just to learn deeper about crypto if it weren't purely for profit purpose.

what about cooling? liquid coolers?

Just normal fan cooling. Liquid cooling is only needed for overclocking which im not.

swwweeetttttt

Awesome @fr3eze. It's so fun getting your first GPU and OCing it to see what hash rate you can pull. Aside from mining that card should hold up to gaming demands for a few years.

I am getting ready to sell my GPUs. They paid for themselves and then some. Time to recycle them and think about one of those GMO B2 ASIC miners!

Enjoy that card and let us know about your mining adventures with it!

Thanks @rt395, instead of OCing I go for the best Hashrate/Watt ratio. Undervolt and tuning with the cores and mem, just trying to get the sweetest spot of efficiency. And definitely yes that the card will allow to handle most of the games without pressure, and I'm yet to explore this part because I was so caught up in trying its mining ability haha!

I'm not sure about ASIC miners as I think that would be an investment with higher risk? Would love to see how you gonna do with it you finally get one.

Great addition to your rig.

Still running an i7 4770 with a GTX770

Very dated. Next build likely to be a Ryzen second generation.

Yeah I'm running on the first grn of Ryzen now, so far so good!

i read somewhere Adobe likes to optimize for Nvidia graphics more. so a Ryzen with integrated graphics will probably lose to motherboards with Nvidia integrated gpu in addition to external discrete gpu

Have no study on this. Not gonna PS anyway.

Cool. Hope I can get mine soon.

Mining can be started as easy as CPU mining.

Upvoted! Check our page!
Our ML team provides the freshest and the most interesting #tradingtips and #tradingsignals which you can use for your profit.

1_8KfSFZtwhLJr7aHNgNMcWA.gif

My dream graphics card!!!!!!! Upvoted!

Keep a close eye on Prime Now SG, the good deal might appear anytime.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02