Issue 18- Out of Context: Comic Cover Edition!

in #steempress6 years ago

Issue 18- Out of Context: Comic Cover Edition!


So after last issues… wondrous tale of how Ms. Marvel’s life was completely ruined MULTIPLE times, I figured we go lighter as once again we deal with something more fun. Like, how we can all as a society laugh at some of the stupidest comic covers ever created in this issue of OUT Of CONTEXT! So get ready to laugh, cry, or just go...why?

Marvel Teamup #137


So… this happened.


(HER NAME WAS GOLDEN OLDIE!)

I think the warning in the corner about assistant editors month is all you needed to know but still, Aunt May becomes a herald to Galactus. And she saves the day by feeding him Twinkies. TWINKIES!

Oh and it turned out it wasn’t an imaginary tale, just Peter having a bad dream. Once again... WHY ASSISTANT EDITORS! WHY!

Superman #125


Oh silver age Supes. I could pretty much fill up this issue with just covers from him but I wanted to put a bit more variety out there. I mean, there is a reason why there is a site detailing just how much Superman is a jerk!


(Honestly, I think the term shouldn’t be fantastic, but FAAAABULLLOUSSS!)

So this cover is not exactly a good foreshadowing of what this “new power” is. Usually in wouldn’t do this but do you wanna know a secret? I know what that power is!


(BOOM! SECOND PIC!)

HE SHOOTS LITTLE SUPERMAN OUT OF HIS FINGERS! What the hell DC! What the hell!

Batman #147


Soo… since Superboy was popular in the silver-age, how about making a younger Bruce?


(Yes, this is the “Story of the Year!”)

I’m not kidding. The Superman writers were actually having great success with tales of the Man of Steel as both a boy and a baby so both Wonder Woman and Batman tried to get a piece of the action. And so they give you got that…. Amazing.

Why does it have suspenders...?

The Transformers #31


Soo… apparently Sam Witwicky wasn’t just some character that Michael Bay just pulled from his ass but he based him on some of these comic characters, Hmm...


(DOOOOOOOOM!)

I picked this just based on the title alone. Although fully called Buster Witwicky and the Carwash of Doom, that doesn’t help the images that this cover conjures up in your mind. And this from a series where they backed up Optimus Prime’s brain onto a floppy disc. Yes, that happened.

Superman's Girl Friend, Lois Lane #9


Ok, what the hell sorta title for a comic series is THAT! Superman’s Girl Friend? That's as bad as Jimmy's Olsen's comic...Superman's Pal...Ugh… just… just post the cover please…


(Ha, I can get out of the 2 Superman covers since this isn’t actually a Superman book! It’s Lois Lane’s! Sort of…)

I mean, I know Pat Boone was a music stealing butt and crazy anti gay wad, but… well ok, I think that’s good enough. Usually I’d consider Superman a jerk but you know what, Boone doesn’t need another hit. Good on you Supes.

World’s Finest #141


Ugh, sorry, more DC but seriously! These covers are all the best! I mean just look at this!


(Yeah Jimmy, Dick! That will show them! Make them think you’re dead!)

For being such a detective, Bruce can’t tell that his their sidekicks are like 10 feet away… I mean you don’t even need Supe’s X-Ray vision, they're standing RIGHT OUT IN THE OPEN! Also, this is the silver age. Batman and Super might actually kill someone to avenge their deaths! Or go skiing… both things happened.

But that’s going to be about it on this issue of Comic’s Corner. It’s super freaking hot out so I’m going to turn on the ac and keep it cool, just like we were in the 90’s! Heh, yeah, like I was ever cool. But seriously, next issue we’re looking at another my Hero, this time my favorite Green Lantern, Kyle Rayner! Excelsior!

 


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://vaughndemont.com/comicscorner/2018/07/24/issue-18-out-of-context-comic-cover-edition/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86