How to calm Insomnia | CJ Education | Self #2

in #steempress6 years ago (edited)


It's very common nowadays for people to have insomnia. I, myself felt it almost every night. We couldn't sleep because our eyes were wide open. We sometimes thought about how these things happen.


What is Insomnia?

Do you wonder why you can't sleep at night? When you can just close your eyes but your mind is yet active. It is because of insomnia. We could commonly experience this when we had unhealthy sleeping habits. Insomnia may result in many symptoms.


Fatigue

When we had insomnia last night, today will be a very tiring day. We had a lack of satisfying sleep so our bodies tend to feel very tired and laziness. We sometimes felt overfatigue where we become vulnerable to other illness.


Difficulty in Concentrating

We don't only experience tiredness, we also experience a difficulty in concentrating. Our brain couldn't function normally because we had a lack of sleep. Our mind thinks only about sleeping. Thus we felt difficulty in concentrating every little thing. We may also feel different kinds of headaches.


Mood Sensitivity

When we had insomnia, we tend to experience dizziness. Our mood becomes very fragile. We hardly try to laugh at someone's joke. We get angry by little things and realized that it was just nothing. We couldn't understand our mood so we tried to control it.


Decreased performance

I hated this the most. When I had insomnia: I sometimes fail to participate in class, I fail to do my assignments, and I fail to think about what to blog next. It's not really my mistake if I couldn't have a satisfying sleep, it's insomnia that keeps bothering me.

Maybe there are a lot of things we could experience when we had insomnia. Whatever it is, we should practice ourselves to do healthy habits.

There are things that we could control yet we fail to. Maybe these things are way uneasy for us to handle.


Insomnia & Depression

Insomnia can also be caused by depression. We mostly feel tiredness, low self-esteem, sadness, when we are depressed. Thus when we are depressed we couldn't have a proper sleep. We thought of things like a misunderstanding with our best friends, failure to succeed something our parents wanted us to, a heartbroken. We couldn't stop thinking about these things, where else it may result in severe insomnia.


Insomnia & Anxiety

Most of us have had some trouble sleeping. Maybe because we feel worried or nervous. If then, we couldn't sleep because we are trying to think about something that could happen in the future or we are excessively worrying about something in the past. This may result in an anxiety. It would be very challenging to experience the two simultaneously.


Insomnia & Food

There are many food-related reasons why we experience insomnia. It could be the amount of caffeine we obtained from a coffee we drunk, the number of alcoholic drinks we had, or the numerous food we ate before bedtime. These things interfere with our sleep, we could feel discomfort making it really hard for us to sleep.


How to get rid of Insomnia?

Every night I get very tired of trying to sleep. There are so many thoughts in my head that I couldn't explain. When I start thinking about it, my headaches get worse.

I always have insomnia, I don't really know the reason why. Is it my anxiety? or my depression? could it be Steemit itself? Whatever it is, I'm sure it has something to do with my personal life.

I won't share my personal story, but I could give a glimpse of it. Honestly, I fought anxiety and depression every day and perhaps insomnia. As I duel with insomnia every night, I realized something.

Why do I have to fight Insomnia? when I could just spend the night with it.


Me & Insomnia

I tend to play with insomnia. The more I fight the more it would stay. I sometimes ignore it, I write something for my future blogs, I listen to sad/jazz music, or stare at the ceiling.

I also spend the night by just thinking happy thoughts and memories, forgetting insomnia itself. I just realized that maybe insomnia was meant for us to have a solitary moment. To experience something that was missing that made us unsatisfied perhaps a pre-dream.

When I do this, insomnia would surprisingly quit the head out of me. And when it does, I am able to close my eyes and wait for the magical dreams to come.


Photos were taken from pixabay.com & unsplash.com

References: sleepfoundation.org1, sleepfoundation.org2 & School of Life Youtube Channel


Greetings from,
@carlitojoshua

Sort:  

Insomniac pud ko but unlike before, mo gotch na Jud ko Kai gorz. Before sugot ra ko di ka tulog till ika 3rd day. milk for me helps nya happy thoughts and exercise.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62817.54
ETH 2573.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74